Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

College of Nursing

NURS 40045 - Integrations of Leadership and Management in Nursing
Categories Engaged Service Scholarship
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Tina L. Saunders - tsaunder@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Course provides students with the knowledge and skills for a beginning leadership position (team leader, module leader and primary nurse), applicable to the care of patients in a health care environment. Course provides students with opportunities to synthesize their nursing knowledge and collaborate with their clinical preceptor in preparation for their professional nursing role.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 30010 - Parent and Newborn Nursing
Categories Engaged Service-Learning
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Jane E. Ragozine (P), Nancy B. Aho, Marilyn Nibling, Ronna Watson - jragozin@kent.edu, naho@kent.edu, rwatson4@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description A study of nursing assessment, need identification and evaluation for individuals and families during the child bearing cycle.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 40020 - Community Health Nursing
Categories Engaged Service Scholarship
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Nancy B. Jones (P), Carol A. Beltz, Sue L. Hritz, Pamela H. Rafferty-Semon, Marcia A. Schulz - nbjones@kent.edu, cbeltz@kent.edu, shritz@kent.edu, praffer1@kent.edu, mschulz@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Concepts of community health nursing with emphasis on health promotion and prevention of population-based health problems. Students are responsible for their transportation to field experience.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 30030 - Nursing of Adults
Categories Engaged Service-Learning
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Shirley A. Hemminger (P), Ella R. Anaya, Diana L. Fleming, Mary F. Kutchin - shemming@kent.edu, eanaya@kent.edu, dflemin4@kent.edu,
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Emphasizes health promotion and prevention of episodic illness and maintenance of health status. Utilizes nursing process as foundation to provide nursing care composed of clinical experience in acute care settings.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 2030 - Foundations of Assessment and Communication
Categories Engaged Learning
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Lynne R. Crawford (P), Tamara A. Fox, Pamela H. Rafferty-Semon, Barbara L. Yoost - lcrawfo2@kent.edu, tfox4@kent.edu, praffer1@kent.edu, byoost@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Foundations of nursing interventions focuses on selected aspects of nursing care to improve the health of individuals within families and groups. Utilizes principles of the interpersonal process, nursing process and professional nursing.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 40010 - Nursing of Critically Ill
Categories Engaged Service Scholarship
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Catherine M. Snelson (P), Jeremy M. Jarzembak, Cindy A. Wilk - csnelson@kent.edu, jjarzemb@kent.edu, cwilk@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Holistic approach to assessing, intervening and evaluating critically ill persons. Nursing practice in critical care settings with diverse populations.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 30020 - Health Care of Children
Categories Engaged Service-Learning
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Betty D. Freund (P), Tracy L. Perkowski, Elaine Thomas - bfreund@kent.edu, tperkows@kent.edu, ethomas2@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Nursing process in family-centered care of children including health and developmental promotion and illness and restorative intervention.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 40872 - Intro to Nursing
Categories Engaged Service Scholarship
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Susan Yoder - syoder@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description Scientific approach and methods of research design in clinical nursing. Evaluation of specific nursing studies. Development of a researchable nursing problem analysis and critique of studies of problem and implications for clinical practice.
Social Issues
Health

NURS 30040 - Nursing of Adults with Rehab Needs &/or Gerontologic Changes
Categories Engaged Service-Learning
Semesters Offered
Fall
Instructor Jennifer R. Metheney (P), Nancy L. Burkle, Shirley A. Hemminger - jmethene@kent.edu, shemming@kent.edu
Campus Location(s) Kent
Description This course encompasses care of persons and families dealing with gerontologic changes and/or rehabilitation needs.
Social Issues
Health