Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

New Faculty

The Department of Biological Sciences welcomed three new faculty members during the 2008-2009 academic year.

  • Dr. Xiaozhen Mou
  • Dr. Edgar Kooijman
  • Dr. Colleen Novak investigates differences in the brain, endocrine system and the genetic background that underlies the tendency to be active or sedentary, and how this contributes to the ability to resist weight and fat gain. She is also interested in how diet, such as a high-fat diet, affects energy balance through altering physical activity levels.

The Department of Biological Sciences welcomed four new faculty members during the 2007-2008 academic year.             

  • Dr. Heather Caldwell is a behavioral neuroendocrinologist who primarily studies the roles of oxytocin and vasopressin in the neural regulation of social behavior.
  • Dr. Derek Damron
  • Dr. John Johnson is a neuroscientist studying neuroimmune interactions within the brain; specifically the regulation of brain cytokines and their role in behavior and disease.
  • Dr. Patrick Lorch's research focuses on behavioral and evolutionary ecology of insects and how natural selection and sexual selection interact.