Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Pharmacology Program Faculty

Learn more about Kent State’s Pharmacology Program faculty today.  All of our faculty members have extensive educational backgrounds that make them exceptional sources of industry information and insights. Feel free to contact any of the Pharmacology Program faculty listed below by clicking on the link to their email address.

Once you’ve read about the Pharmacology Program faculty members, be sure to learn more about the Pharmacology Program itself. If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact the School of Biomedical Sciences.

David D. Allen
E-mail:dallen@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6461
Fax: 330-325-5919

Ph.D., University of Kentucky. Nicotine addiction, physiology, pharmacology, treatment, drug delivery. 

Sounitra Basu
E-mail: sbasu@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3906
Fax: 330-672-3816

Ph.D., Jefferson University. Molecular basis of RNA structure and function, drug design. More on Basu

 Deepak Bhatia
 E-mail: dbhatia@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6482

Ph,D., genetic and epigenetic changes in human lung cancer, genotoxic stress, growth control genes. More on Bhatia

Richard Carroll
E-mail: rcarroll@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6657
Fax: 330-325-5930

Ph.D., University of Toledo. Neurodevelopment, neurodegenerative dieseases, Autism, Alzheimers, inflammation and recovery. More on Carroll

John Y.L. Chiang
E-mail: jchiang@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6694

Ph.D., SUNY Albany. Molecular cloning, expression and regulation of cytochrome P-450 genes; regulation of bile acid synthesis and cholesterol metabolism in the human liver. More on Chiang

 Altaf Darvesh
 E-mail: adarvesh@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6658

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, Development of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory strategies for neoplastic an neurodegenerative diseases, as well as psychiatric disorders.  More on Darvesh

Dean E. Dluzen
E-mail:ded@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6300

Ph.D., Ill. Inst. Tech. The role of dopamine in corpus striatum as function of age; influence of sex pheromones on neurotransmitter release and in olfactory area. More on Dluzen

Werner J. Geldenhuys
E-mail: wgelden@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6474

Ph.D., North-West University, Potchefstroom. Drug discovery and neurodegenerative disorders, proteomics, bioinformatics. More on Geldenduys

 Thomas J. Jones
 E-mail: tjones@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6219

Ph.D., Medical College of Ohio. Cilia mediated heat shock protein suppression, polycystic kidney, signaling pathways. More on Jones

 Alexander Mdzinarishvili
 E-mail: amdzinarishvili@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6545
 Fax: 330-325-5936

Ph.D., Russian Academy of Medical Sciences. Metabolic and transmitter changes in stroke. More on Mdzinarishvili

J. Gary Meszaros
E-mail: jgmeszar@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-2565
Fax: 330-325-5910

Ph.D., Univ. Texas Health Sciences Ctr., Houston. G-proteins in cardiac fibroblasts and myocytes; second messengers; receptor desensitization, cardiac fibrosis and failure. More on Meszaros

 Priya Raman
 E-mail: praman@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6425

Ph.D., Northeast Louisiana University. Regulation of thrombospondin-1 by leptin in vascular smooth muscle cells, atherosclerosis. More on Raman

 Prabodh Sadana
 E-mail: psadana@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6676
 Fax: 330-325-5936

Ph.D., University of Tennessee. Hormonal regulation of lipid metabolism. More on Sadana

Mark A. Simmons
E-mail: simmons@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6525

Ph.D., Emory University. Neuropharmacology. More on Simmons

 Vijay Sutariya
 E-mail: vsutariya@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6485
Ph.D., University of Baroda. Drug delivery systems, nanoparticles. More on Sutariya

 Charles Thodeti
 E-mail: cthodeti@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6423
 Fax: 330-325-5912

Ph.D., S.V. University. Mechanical control of integrin activation in capillary endothelial cells, signal transduction. More on Thodeti

Cornelis J. Van der Schyf
E-mail: cvanders@neomed.edu
Phone: 330-325-6467
Fax: 330-325-5930

D.Sc., Potchefstroom University. etiology of neurodegenerative diseases, pharmaceutical intervention, stroke, Alzheimers, AIDS dementia. More on Van der Schyf

June Yun
E-mail: jyun@neomed.edu
Phone:330-325-6638
Fax:330-325-5912

Ph.D., George Washington University. Signaling via adrenergic receptors, cardiac contractility and growth. More on Yun

 Yanqiao Zhang
 E-mail: yzhang@neomed.edu
 Phone: 330-325-6693

Ph.D., Wuhan University. Role FXR in lipid homeostasis and obestiy, atherosclerosis and   cholesterol transport.  More on Zhang