Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Student Organizations at Kent State University
Contact Information
Roslynn Porch
rporch@kent.edu


Kent Student Center RM 232

Black United Students

  1. The Black Student movement began at Kent State University in the fall of 1967. On January 17th, the United Christian fellowship and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) sponsored a lecture by Henry Austin, Public Relations Director of the Deacons of Defense. Austin challenged Black Students to “unite and stand up” in an effort to organize themselves. In April, after three months of operating underground.
  2. Black United Students became a registered organization at Kent State University. Acquiring the distinction of becoming the FIRST student founded organization on the campus of Kent State University, as well as the FIRST Student founded Black Nationalist Organization. In a matter of months, the organization literally went from nonexistent to being the most powerful student group on campus.
  3. Membership in The Black United Students was, and still is; open to ALL students at Kent State University who are willing to struggle for the educational, cultural, political, and social advancement of African peoples throughout the world.

2013/2014 Black United Students Board Members:

President- Roslynn Porch rporch@kent.edu

Vice President- Mary Rogers mroger20@kent.edu

Executive Secretary- Olivia Thompson othomps2@kent.edu

Director of Programming- Dairia Harvin dharvin1@kent.edu

Treasurer- Mariah Rucker mrucker6@kent.edu

Director of Academic Affairs- Mamadou Ndiaye mndiaye@kent.edu

Director of Community Affairs- Leia Belt lbelt1@kent.edu

Director of Political Affairs & Grievances- Ephraim Butler ebutler9@kent.edu

Director of Public Relations- Dwain Ross drossii@kent.edu

Director of Student Relations- Matthew Thompson mthomp58@kent.edu

"Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity."
-Martin Luther King
National Affiliation