Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate Office is located on the second floor of the Schwartz Center in Room 227.  Our fax number is 330.672.7127  We can be reached at 330.672.7822.

The Faculty Senate is the faculty governing body for Kent State University.  It is primarily concerned with matters of university educational policies, curriculum, academic and professional standards, and the establishment, discontinuance and major alteration of academic programs.  The senate also possesses shared responsibilities and advisory responsibilities.  In addition, the Faculty Senate may consider other matters pertaining to the welfare and mission of the university.

Currently, there are 46 Senators representing 20 different electorates, 25 non-voting Ex-Officio members, and 3 Observers (1 Emeritus Professor, 1 Graduate Student Senate, and 1 Undergraduate Student Senate).  Senators are elected each year on a rotating basis for three-year terms.  Each year, the Senators elect the Executive Committee, which consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair, a Secretary, and an At-Large member.  In addition, 2 appointed members are selected for the Executive Committee.


2013-2014 Executive Committee Members: Paul Farrell,  Chair
  Don White,  Vice Chair
  Vanessa Earp, Secretary
  George Garrison,  At-Large
  David Dees,  Appt'd Member
  Lee Fox-Cardamone,  Appt'd Member
2013-2014 Faculty Senate Meeting Schedule: July 15, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  September 9, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  October 7, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  November 4, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  December 9, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  February 10, 2014  {agenda & materials}
  March 10, 2014  {agenda & materials}
  April 14, 2014
  May 12, 2014
  July 21, 2014
2012-2013 Faculty Senate Meeting Schedule: July 16, 2012  {agenda & materials}
  September 10, 2012  {agenda & materials}
  October 8, 2012  {agenda & materials}
  November 5, 2012  {agenda & materials}
  December 10, 2012  {agenda & materials}
February 11, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  March 11, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  April 8, 2013  {agenda & materials}
  May 13, 2013  {agenda & materials}

 NOTE:  All Faculty Senate meetings are held at 3:20 pm in the Governance Chambers of the Student Center