

2015 DISTINGUISHED HONORS FACULTY AWARD NOMINATION FORM

You are invited to nominate an outstanding Honors faculty member for the 2015 Distinguished Honors Faculty Award.

The Distinguished Honors Faculty Award recognizes excellence in Honors teaching based upon years of service, advising of independent work, and a proven record of strong teaching performance. Please review the eligibility requirements before completing a nomination form.

ELIGIBLITY

All faculty members who have taught a minimum of three Honors courses or supervised Individual Honors Work or Senior Honors Theses or Projects are eligible for consideration, including part-time temporary instructors and Honors faculty from Regional Campuses. Previous Distinguished Honors Faculty Award recipients are not eligible.

SELECTION CRITERIA

The selection committee, composed of the Honors College Dean and Honors College Policy Council members, tends to place emphasis on quality rather than the quantity of nominations.

We are looking for Honors faculty who: demonstrate a passion for the discipline; demonstrate thorough knowledge of their subject matter including recent developments in their field; teach effectively, inspire enthusiasm for learning, arouse curiosity, and stimulate independent and critical thinking; utilize active learning and productive discussion techniques in addition to lecture; enjoy challenge from students and seeing students as having interesting points of view; demonstrate skill at showing students the subject matter affects them as people; and, create community in the classroom

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Deborah Barnbaum, Philosophy Denzel Benson, Sociology Daniel Berardinelli, English David Ewbank, English Surinder Bhardwaj, Geography Rathindra Bose, Chemistry Paul Brandt, English Richard Craig, Political Science James Delisle, Education Allan Dooley, Education Jean Druesedow, Fashion Don-John Dugas, English Edwin Gould, Chemistry Leslie Heaphy, History
Tom Hensley, History
Clyde Jentoft, English
Ruth Ludwick, Nursing
Christina McVay, English
E.Timothy Moore, Pan-African Studies
Denny Nygren, Music
Donald Palmer, Geology
Susan Sainato, English
Bobby Smith, English
Trudy Steurernagel, Political Science
Kimberly Todd-White, English
Kimberly Winebrenner, English
Barbara Yoost, Nursing

Return signed form by March 5 to:

Honors College Kent State University P.O. Box 5190 Kent, OH 44242



NOMINEE INFORMATION

Name of Nominee	Department
Please tell us why you are nominating this faculty member for the Distinguished Honors Faculty Award, addressing items related to the selection criteria. You may attach additional pages.	
-	
NOMINATOR INFORMATION	
Name	Kent State Email Address
Signature	Date

Return signed form by March 5 to:

Honors College Kent State University P.O. Box 5190 Kent, OH 44242