Gary Hanson

Gary Hanson is a 25-year veteran of television news. From 1984 to 1997 he was News Director of WKBN, the CBS television affiliate in Youngstown, Ohio.

He is the past Freedom and Responsibility Chair of the RTV-J Division of AEJMC, the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. In 2016, he received the Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education.

Hanson is a Past Chairman of the Radio-Television News Directors Association, representing 3800 broadcast and cable journalists around the world. His work with RTNDA included the chairmanship of the Education Liaison Committee, serving as the liaison between the industry association and the nation's radio and television journalism education community.

He represented RTNDA on the Accrediting Council for Education for Journalism and Mass Communication, the body that accredits university journalism programs, and was twice elected to ACEJMC's Accrediting Committee. He has served as a member of the ACEJMC Site Visit teams to 13 universities around the country including New York University and the University of Miami. Hanson also served as Limited Service Faculty member in the Department of Speech and Theater at Youngstown State University. In the summer of 2000, Hanson taught in the Media Department of Concordia International University Estonia in Tallin, Estonia.

Hanson is the winner of 3 National Association of Television Arts and Sciences Regional EMMY awards in the Cleveland region for his work as principal reporter on the WKBN TV public affairs broadcast "Newswatch Sunday."

Prior to joining WKBN, Hanson was News Director of KXON-TV in Mitchell, South Dakota. He began his television career at WDAZ TV in Grand Forks, North Dakota in 1971. He earned a B.A. in Speech from the University of North Dakota in 1973.

Hanson received his Masters Degree from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University where he serves as a professor. His wife, Dr. LuEtt Hanson, is an associate professor in KSU's School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

B.A. in Speech, University of North Dakota, 1973, M.A. in Journalism and Mass Communication, Kent State University

Job Department:

3 National Association of Television Arts and Sciences, regional EMMY awards in the Cleveland region