John Butte

John Butte is the Coordinator of Career Services in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. He serves as the School’s principal internship coordinator and leads efforts in student personal branding and career development. Each spring he organizes the annual CCI CareerExpo where juniors and seniors meet with northeast Ohio’s leading communication oriented employers for a day of networking and interviewing for jobs and internships. CareerExpo is held at the Greater Cleveland Convention Center.

John is also teaches courses in both the Journalism and Electronic Media majors. He is a past faculty adviser to our student media television cable channel, TV2.

In June, 2014 John was inducted into the prestigious Silver Circle of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Lower Great Lakes Chapter. The Silver Circle recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to television for twenty-five years or more.

He enjoys a remarkable broadcast journalism career that began in 1965 as a full-time radio announcer while in high school in his hometown, Corydon, Indiana. After receiving a Bachelors of Science degree from Indiana University, he began his career as a reporter/photographer at WHAS-TV, Louisville. He worked as an anchor, reporter, assignment editor, producer and news director in several medium and large televisions markets.  He retired from broadcast television in 2008 from his position as Vice President and General Manager of WEWS-TV, the local Cleveland Ohio ABC affiliate.

He created “The Crusaders,” a national advocacy television news magazine for the Walt Disney Company in Burbank California in 1993 and in 1996 in Columbus, he created the Ohio News Network, ONN, Ohio’s 24/7 cable news channel.

In addition to his Silver Circle recognition, John is the recipient of numerous awards including regional Emmys and both a national Edward R. Murrow and an I.R.E. for investigative reporting.

B.S., Indiana University

Job Department:

Silver Circle recognition, regional Emmys, National Edward R. Murrow Award, I.R.E Award for Investigative Reporting