Senior Associate Provost | Kent State University

Melody J. Tankersley, Ph.D.

Melody J. Tankersley, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Provost
Division of Academic Affairs


  • B.A., Southwestern College M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Job Description

Provost Diacon leads the largest of Kent State’s six divisions and is responsible for the administration, faculty and staff within the university’s 10 colleges and seven Regional Campuses. Diacon provides leadership in the areas of curriculum, academic personnel and faculty affairs, research, experiential education and civic engagement, student success and global education. As a member of the President’s Cabinet, he assists in the development and administration of university policies and strategic goals.

Direct Reports

  • Vice President, Kent State System Integration, Nathan P. Ritchey
  • Senior Associate Provost, Melody J. Tankersley
  • Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs, Sue N. Averill
  • Associate Provost, Global Education, Marcello Fantoni
  • Associate Provost, Academic Affairs, Mandy Munro-Stasiuk
  • Senior Associate Vice President, Strategic Enrollment Management, T. David Garcia
  • Associate Vice President, Operations and Administration, Jennifer N. McDonough
  • Associate Vice President, Academic Budget and Resource Management, Melissa S. Hunter
  • Associate Vice President, Continuing and Distance Education, Deborah C. Huntsman
  • Director, University Ceremonies, Events and Special Programs, Lashonda M. Taylor
  • Project Director, Academic Affairs, Karen M. Keenan
  • Assistant to the Provost, Emily S. Myers
  • Interim Dean, College of Aeronautics & Engineering, Robert G. Sines Jr.
  • Dean, College of Architecture and Environmental Design, Mark A. Mistur
  • Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, James L. Blank
  • Dean, College of the Arts, John R. Crawford-Spinelli
  • Dean, College of Business Administration, Deborah F. Spake
  • Dean, College of Communication and Information, Amy L. Reynolds
  • Dean, College of Public Health, Sonia A. Alemagno
  • Interim Dean, College of Education, Health and Human Services, Mark A. Kretovics
  • Dean, College of Nursing, Barbara A. Broome
  • Dean, University College, Eboni J. Pringle
  • Dean, University Libraries, James K. Bracken
  • Dean, Graduate Studies, Melody J. Tankersley
  • Dean, College of Podiatric Medicine, Allan M. Boike

Contact, 330-672-8529

Learn more about the Office of the Provost