Undergraduate Research Assistant Opportunities

You are here

Undergraduate Research Assistant Opportunities

Below is a list of faculty, graduate students, and others, who are currently looking for research assistants (RAs). If you are interested in one of these opportunities, carefully read over our step-by-step research experience process. Please use the contact information below to get involved.

Faculty/Grad Student
Research Interest
Contact Information

Riccio /Jasnow

Projects involve the study of memory acquisition, storage, and expression.  (Note: The projects involve using rats and mice as models for memory.)

Jordan Adkins jadkin26@kent.edu

Jasnow

Research projects involve characterizing neurophysiological processes underlying fear, anxiety, and social stress behaviors (Note: This lab uses a mouse model.)

Maeson Latsko mlatsko@kent.edu

Sohini Dutta sdutta1@kent.edu

Samantha Ortiz sortiz2@kent.edu

Sato

Child-health psychology. Current Projects are focused on obesity and weight management in children and adolescents. (e.g., influence of stress on adolescent health, role of parent and family influences on pediatric obesity, health disparities in low-income youth, late adolescent weight gain)  (Note: 3.3 minimum GPA; 6 hrs/wk and two-semester commitment required; preference given to psych majors who have taken Quant 1 and Research Methods)

Libby Ruzicka ebollin1@kent.edu

Fountain

 

Projects with rats: 1) Studies examining adult learning and memory impairments caused by exposure to drugs, such as nicotine, during adolescence. 2) Studies examining the neural, behavioral, and cognitive systems responsible for complex behavior. Minimum requirements: 3.0 GPA in the previous academic year and commitment to approximately 10 hours of lab time per week.

Megan Miller mmill151@kent.edu

or

Jessica Sharp Jsharp13@kent.edu

 Dunlosky

 How people monitor and control their learning and memory.  (Note: 3.0 minimum GPA; must intend to go to grad school)

 Rachel Hall rhall52@kent.edu

Updegraff

How do people stick to health-related goals, such as diet and exercise? How can adherence to health behaviors be improved?

 John Updegraff jupdegr1@kent.edu

Updegraff

Conscious and unconscious factors that affect health behavior, judgment, and decision-making. (Note: GPA and other factors will be considered when reviewing applications, but all are encouraged to apply.)

John Updegraff jupdegr1@kent.edu

Coifman

Research on emotions, stress, and relationships.
(Note: 3.0 minimum GPA; 6-9 hrs/week and two-semester commitment required)

Karin Coifman kcoifman@kent.edu

Delahanty

Opportunities are available for a number of projects being conducted in collaboration with Akron Children’s Hospital.  Help is also needed with several current projects examining physical and mental health outcomes in a variety of populations including college undergraduates, individuals experiencing recent and past trauma, as well as individuals seeking addiction treatment.

Main Lab delahantylab1@gmail.com

Ben-Porath

Research Interests: Our research group focuses on the use of the MMPI-2-RF. Some of our current projects are related to the use of the MMPI-2-RF in outpatient clinic samples, chronic pain clinics, bariatric surgery clinics, and police departments.  We offer a position at a regional private practice for a research assistant to review client records and compile specific data.  We also provide opportunities for motivated students to collaborate on research projects, which could lead to conference presentations. We have a formal application process that allows interested undergraduate students the opportunity to learn more about our research group experience before making any firm commitments.

Jessica Tylicki jtylick1@kent.edu

Hughes

Health Psychology: projects in the areas of cardiovascular disease, pulmonary disease, etc.

David Ede dede1@kent.edu

Zaragoza

Research projects span a wide array of phenomena regarding the effects of misinformation on the development of false memories. Projects research assistants may work on include investigating the effects of corrections in news stories, lying on the development of false memories, falsely describing a face on lineup identification, and juror's perception of witness uncertainty.

Jaruda Ithisuphalap jithisup@kent.edu

Neal-Barnett

Current projects involve anxiety, and racial and ethnic identity in Black adolescents. We are looking for undergraduate research assistants to perform general duties in the lab, as well as four undergraduates to facilitate groups for Black adolescent girls. Preference for those who want to work with Black adolescent girls. Must have some knowledge of mobile technology. Work takes place in urban inner-city communities. Valid driver’s license preferred but not necessary. (Note: minimum 3.0 GPA)

Delilah Ellzey dellzey@kent.edu

Ciesla

Depression, rumination, stress, and sleep in both adult and adolescent populations. (Note: 3 hrs/week and two-semester commitment required)

Jennifer Cooks jcooks3@kent.edu

Thompson

How children and adults learn about fractions and make simple numeric decisions. (Note: 3.0 minimum GPA; minimum of 6.0 hours/week commitment; must have reliable transportation to travel to local elementary schools)

Pooja Sidney psidney1@kent.edu

Grau

This project involves investigation of mother-child interactions, maternal behaviors, child cognitive and behavioral functioning, and the social environment in a sample of Latina, adolescent mothers. (Note: This lab is currently seeking applicants for summer 2017. Applicants should have a minimum of 3.0 GPA.)

Aimee Hammer ahammer7@kent.edu

Was

Projects involve the study of implicit memory and learning, and attention control. (Note: minimum 3.2 GPA and 6-9/wk commitment.)

Christopher Was cwas@kent.edu

Gere

Research in the lab focuses broadly on goal pursuit, romantic relationships, and well-being. Research assistants have to be able to commit to 3-6 hours/week for at least 2 semesters. Must have minimum 3.0 GPA and intend to go to graduate school.

Judith Gere jgere@kent.edu

Folk

Projects related to how higher and lower skill readers learn from text. (Note: This lab is only seeking applicants for fall 2017.)

Dr. Jill Folk jfolk@kent.edu

Gunstad/Spitznagel

Help is needed on various exciting projects in neuropsychology! Our lab focuses on the brain-body relationship and investigates research questions such as: Is it possible to detect Alzheimer’s disease using a smartphone app?  Can eating yogurt improve your memory and other mental abilities? How does having a sick pet affect the owner? To get involved in researching these questions and more, email for an application! (Minimum 3.2 GPA)

Kim Chapman kchapm15@kent.edu

Taber        

Social/health psychology. Projects involve how people think about and respond to risk information for disease, especially genetic risk information. Projects may also involve understanding why people do and do not engage in health behaviors, including sun safety and tobacco use.

Jennifer Taber jtaber1@kent.edu

Kiken

Social/health psychology. Research on how mindfulness affects health information processing and behavior. Additional projects on spirituality, meditation, and well-being. (Minimum 3.0 GPA)

Laura Kiken lkiken@kent.edu

Kerns

Research on emotion and parent-child relationships (Minimum 3.4 GPA)

Logan Kochendorfer lkochend@kent.edu

Flessner

Clinical child psychology. The majority of the projects are focused upon understanding biological and psychosocial risk factors linked to the development of child anxiety and related problems. We have more recently begun to expand our work to examine the influence of child anxiety on pediatric health conditions (and vice versa). More specifically, we are in the process of developing several studies to gain a better understanding of the day-to-day experience of children suffering from any of the “big 8” food allergies. We are also initiating a parallel line of research seeking to examine the potential benefit of a behavioral intervention for young children (4-5 years of age) diagnosed with a food allergy with aim of preventing food allergy reactions in this particularly vulnerable population. (Note: 3.3 minimum GPA; 6hrs/week and two-semester commitment required; preference given to psych majors interested in pursuing graduate school and have taken Quant 1 or Research Methods.)

Anna Luke aluke1@kent.edu

Rawson

Research Interest: Investigating techniques to enhance learning, memory, and comprehension. (Note: minimum 3.2 GPA, minimum commitment of 6 hours per week for two semesters; preference for students who will be sophomores or juniors in Fall 2017, preference for students who want to go to graduate school)

Katherine Rawson krawson1@kent.edu

Godwin

The Child Development Lab studies how children learn (in the lab and in classrooms). Ongoing projects include the development of attention and executive function. We investigate how these factors influence children’s engagement and learning. Other projects include how learning environments and instructional materials can be optimized to promote attention. We also study how children’s language development influences their ability to reason about categories. 

Karrie Godwin kgodwin1@kent.edu

Wildman

In order for pediatricians to recognize and address behavioral/emotional problems in children, they need to encourage parents to talk to them. We are interested in learning more about how parents perceive pediatrician communication. We are also interested in patients adhering to medical treatments and how communication is related to adherence. (Note: 3.4 Minimum GPA; must be current sophomores or juniors; minimum of 9 hours/week). 

Jeannette Iskander jiskande@kent.edu 

Ciesla

Project involving running participants in an experiment regarding ruminative thought and affective responses to interpersonal stress.

Jeff Ciesla jciesla@kent.edu

 

**Listed below is NOT a Research Assistant position, but rather a paid student worker position: 

The behavioral neuroscience laboratories within the Psychological Sciences department need undergraduate caretakers for the rats and mice used within their experiments! These are paid positions for approximately 20 hours/week and require some weekend and holiday work. Caretakers will be responsible for changing and cleaning cages, feeding and watering the animals, as well as careful monitoring of animal health and well-being. Routine cleaning and sanitization of the workspace is also required. Prior experience handling small animals is preferred. Qualified individuals should be reliable working independently as well as being comfortable communicating routinely with others part of a group. The ability to lift 50lbs is necessary. Opportunities to learn more about, engage more with and expand upon the basic caretaking of the animals is available to suitably motivated individuals! These caretaking positions are popular and competitive; only a few slots on average each semester are available and preference is given to the most qualified applicants. Please contact Laure Farnbauch, Manager of Laboratory Animal Resources in the Department of Psychological Sciences at lfarnbau@kent.edu if interested in applying. 

**Last Updated February 27, 2017