Presidential Search Committee

Kent State University Professor of Anthropology C. Owen Lovejoy, Ph.D., has joined the university’s Presidential Search Committee.

“In our planning for the presidential search, trustees recognized the unique perspective and value that Professor Lovejoy would bring to our process,” said Richard Marsh, Kent State trustee and chair of the Presidential Search Committee. “Though he was unable to accept our invitation in July due to prior commitments, we are pleased that he can join now as our search has moved into high gear in recruitment.” 

Kent State University has formed a search committee to recruit its 12th president, who will succeed retiring President Lester A. Lefton. In April, Dr. Lefton announced his retirement from the presidency of Ohio's second largest public university, effective July 1, 2014. He has served as Kent State's chief executive officer since July 1, 2006.