Call 1-800-83-RIDER or 330-675-8809.
Kent State Trumbull, in partnership with the Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) is pleased to offer Motorcycle Ohio safety training.
Basic Rider courses are offered April through October at our Trumbull and Salem campuses. The Basic Rider Course(BRC) is recommended for beginning riders.
If you already ride, but have never taken a safety course, the BRC also includes many tips and practices for riders with intermediate skills regardless of how many years/miles you have ridden. Ohio law requires this class for 15 1/2 to 17-year old riders.
Courses are 16 hours in length and include four hours of classroom (Thursday*, 6-10 p.m.) and 12 hours of range/riding time (Saturday/Sunday, 8 a.m.-2 p.m.).
Students who successfully complete the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Rider Course (BRC) will have the State of Ohio skill test waived and will receive their motorcycle endorsement or license upon presenting their BRC Course Completion card to a Deputy Registrar (Bureau of Motor Vehicles).
To register for the Motorcycle Ohio training course or to see a complete schedule, please visit our website at www.motorcycle.ohio.gov. Classes fill quickly, so make plans now and register early. Students must pay a non-refundable registration fee of $50.
Students must have a valid TIPIC (Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card) or endorsement to register and attend the Basic Rider Course.
*-Occasionally, classes are scheduled for Friday evenings.