Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Writing Commons News

Writing Commons Director and Volunteer Honored for Service: April 2010

Posted Apr. 14, 2010



Jeanne Smith receives Faculty and Staff Volunteers of the Year Award for her continued efforts on campus and off promoting excellence in learning and physical health. She is actively involved in Campus activities too numerous to mention as well as working with the Friends of the Akron Public Library and the Metro Parks Bike and Hike trails.

John Tamplin receives Distinguished Volunteer Award for his efforts in the professional development of Writing Commons tutors and his work with Kent State University Students and their writing. John is a Kent State University Alumnus and a retired Penn State Professor who volunteers his time at the Kent State Writing Commons and who has initiated the first professional development fund for writing tutors at the Kent State University, Kent campus.