School Committees

All School committees are advisory and recommendatory to the Director. The membership, structure, and function of some of the School's committees are governed by University, Administrative and Operational Policies and the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) The Director may establish ad hoc committees in consultation with the FAC.

The Director welcomes requests from faculty members for positions on the School’s various committees.  The Director, when making appointments to School committees, will be mindful of the diversity of disciplines within the School and will consider the expertise and interests necessary for the functioning of the specific committees.

The School has a range of committees including but not limited to the FAC, Curriculum Committee, Student Academic Complaint Committee, the Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee, as well as other ad hoc Committees, such as search committees, to name just one possibility. Participation of all faculty members is encouraged, and representation from all programs areas will be solicited. Collective Bargaining Agreement and University Policy Register ultimately govern committee membership.  For all committees in the School, seventy-five percent (75%) of the committee membership shall constitute a quorum.

  1. Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

    a. Purpose:
    This elected FAC represents School Faculty members in School governance.  The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement.

    The FAC is convened and chaired at least once per term by the Director who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings.  FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda.  Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the Director, as needed. The Director is an ex-officio, non-voting member of the FAC.

    b. Membership:
    The Committee shall be composed of nine (9) full-time School faculty members whose terms shall be for one (1) year. Three FAC members serve as representatives to the College Advisory Committee (hereinafter the “CAC”). Each year FAC names at least one (1) new CAC representative; thus, while a usual term for an FAC member is only one (1) year, if elected to CAC, that FAC member automatically becomes a member of FAC for a second year because CAC members serve a two-year term.

    All full-time faculty members are eligible for membership on the FAC. This includes full-time non-tenure track (NTT) faculty and regional campus faculty. The FAC should consist of one  (1) Faculty member from each of these seven (7) program areas* (ADED, CTTE, ECED, Literacy, MCED, C&I/At Large, and PEP)—and NTT and regional campus faculty, for a total of nine (9) FAC members elected in a school-wide election each spring semester.  * Math is not a program/degree area for this purpose.

    Thus, each program area (ADED, CTTE, ECED, Literacy, MCED, C&I/At Large and PEP) should choose representatives from program faculty for the FAC ballot. The Director should encourage regional campus faculty, NTT faculty, and other faculty not nominated by their program areas to make known their interest in running for the FAC. 

    Where there is insufficient interest from NTT or regional campus faculty to run for FAC, the at-large members should increase proportionally to keep the number of FAC representatives at nine (9).

    c. Attendance:
    Meetings are open to all School faculty members, except when personnel matters are under discussion. Only elected FAC members may vote on motions before the Committee.

  2. The Curriculum Committee

    a: Purpose: The Curriculum Committee assists the Director in supervising and coordinating the School’s academic programs. The Curriculum Committee makes recommendations on all matters that affect the academic programs of the School, including but not limited to:

    • Review and recommendation of proposals to establish, inactivate and revise courses, degrees, programs, concentrations, majors and sub majors, emphases and options
    • Review and recommendation of proposed course changes to course titles, course descriptions, prerequisites, grading specifications, credits, and content
    • Review and recommendation of workshop proposals

    b: Membership: The Curriculum Committee shall be composed of one (1) full-time faculty member from each program area (ADED, CTTE, ECED, Literacy, MCED, and PEP). Nominations and elections will be held in the same manner as the FAC. Terms, however, are for two (2) years with half of the membership being elected each year. All committee members have voting privileges. The Curriculum Committee shall elect three (3) members to serve on the College Curriculum Committee. Those elected to CCC will serve the corresponding terms.

    The committee Chair—based on need, as established by the committee or by the receipt of proposals for consideration—schedules Curriculum Committee meetings, sharing those dates with the Director and the faculty. Proposals are to conform to the format and include all requested data specified in the latest edition of the “Guidelines for the Preparation of Curricular Proposals” issued by the Office of the Provost.

  3. Student Academic Complaint Committee

    The Student Academic Complaint Committee is composed of three (3) Faculty members elected on an annual basis to serve as needed. When the committee convenes, one (1) member of the committee is elected by other members to serve as the Chair of the Student Academic Complaint Committee. The policies and procedures of this committee are governed by University Policy 4-02.3, including but not limited to the addition of at least one (1) student representative to the committee. An undergraduate student will be added to the committee for complaints from undergraduate courses, and a graduate student will be added to the committee for complaints from graduate courses. 

    In the event that a member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the FAC will select a replacement from the Faculty. If the Chair of the Committee is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the Director will appoint another member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee to direct the committee and the FAC will appoint an additional member to the committee from the Faculty.

  4. Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

    The policies and procedures that govern the School’s Ad Hoc Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion (RTP) Committee are included in University Policy. The Office of the Provost provides procedural and operational guidelines for this committee annually. This committee reviews materials relevant to the professional performance of Faculty who are candidates for reappointment, tenure, or promotion in rank, and to make recommendations to the Director on each of these personnel actions. The recommendations of this committee and the Director’s, together with the materials assembled for the committees, are forwarded to the Dean of the College.

    This committee is composed of tenured full professors and FAC members who are tenured and at or above the rank of the applicant. Members are excluded from deliberations when they, their spouses, or a relative is under consideration, or when a candidate for promotion to a rank higher than their own is considered.

  5. Other Ad Hoc Committees

    The Director may establish, charge, and appoint the membership of ad hoc committees as required by the School. In establishing ad hoc committees, naming members, and designating a committee director, the Director shall consult with the FAC. The Director will welcome requests and preferences from the faculty before establishing and making appointments to ad hoc committees.