Department Committees

All Department committees are advisory and recommendatory to the Chair.  The membership, structure, and function of some of the Department's committees are governed by University, Administrative and Operational Policies and the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement.  The Chair may establish other departmental standing and ad hoc committees in consultation with the FAC.  The Chair will welcome requests from faculty members for positions on the Department’s various committees.  The Chair, when making appointments to Department committees, will be mindful of the diversity of disciplines within the Department and will consider the expertise and interests necessary for the effective functioning of specific committees.

  1. The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

    The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement. The FAC is elected directly by the full-time Faculty of the Department as defined in subhead III A Definition of the Faculty above.

    The TT CBA provides that the tenured and tenure-track faculty of the Department may decide whether and to what extent full-time non-tenure (NTT) track faculty shall be represented on the FAC.

    The TT CBA provides that the faculty of the Department shall ensure that Regional Campus faculty are appropriately represented on key Department and College committees, including but not limited to the FAC, the CAC, the RTP Committee, Search Committees, Review Committees, and committees considering curriculum, department or college policy, instructional standards, and program development.

    FAC terms are for two (2) years. Elections are conducted for the FAC members to assume office at the beginning of the Fall Semester.The FAC shall consist of three tenured and tenure-track faculty members. The membership of the committee should reflect the major disciplinary subdivisions of the department: cultural anthropology, archaeology, and biological anthropology; ergo, membership should be composed of one person who represents one of these subdisciplines.

    The FAC is convened and chaired at least once per term by the Chair who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings.  FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda.  Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the Chair, as needed, or upon a request by at least one-half of the members of the FAC.  The FAC elects one (1) member to act as the Department representative to the College Advisory Committee (hereinafter “CAC”); Normally the CAC representative will be the chair of the FAC.

  2. The Curriculum Committee (CC)

    The CC is composed of at least one (1) faculty member who is designated its chair whether or not there are additional members.  In consultation with the FAC, the CC chair makes recommendations on any and all matters which affect the academic programs of the Department including but not limited to faculty proposals for new courses, changes in course content, major requirements, and other curricular matters.  The CC chair reviews and decides student appeals regarding course substitution.

    The CC chair shall serve on the College Curriculum Committee.

  3. The Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

    The GSC is composed of at least one (1) faculty member elected (by vote of all tenure-track (TT) and non-tenure track faculty (NTT) from each subdiscipline (cultural; biological; archaeological) in the Department. The chair of the GSC is a voting member of the committee and is appointed by the chair of the department. Both TT and NTT faculty can serve (be elected) and are eligible to vote on GSC membership which is determined by 80% voting approval on the ballot. In the event that no candidate from a subdiscipline receives 80% (or more) positive votes on the ballot, the candidate with the highest vote tally serves as that subdiscipline's sole representative. Membership (i.e., inclusion on the ballot) is voluntary. The election is to be held during the fall semester of every third year. The GSC is not necessarily limited to three members and may include additional members from any or all of the three subdisciplines, but in cases of more than three elected members numerical balance among the three subdisciplines is not required.  The chair of the GSC serves as the Graduate Coordinator, and is responsible for oversight of the Department’s graduate program.  The GSC reviews graduate faculty membership status annually and its recommendations are advisory to the Dean of Arts and Sciences. Criteria for graduate faculty membership and the level of that membership are as specified in the University Policy Register 6-15.1. The GSC also reviews proposals for new graduate courses, changes in course content and related curricular matters, and conducts periodic reviews of the Department’s graduate program as a whole. The GSC also assumes the role of Curriculum Committee for graduate curriculum where necessary. The GSC is responsible for evaluating applications for admission, evaluating and recommending candidates for graduate appointments, and monitoring the progress and academic performance of graduate students in the Department. As part of the graduate admissions process, any faculty member may review candidates and provide a statement in support of each candidate’s case to the Graduate Studies Committee (via email to the Graduate Coordinator). A list of all applicants will be circulated to all faculty before the GSC meets to make decisions on applicants, and all faculty have access to the Banner imaging portal to view applications.

  4. Student Academic Complaint Committee

    The chair of the GSC serves as the Department’s Student Academic Complaint Officer. The policies and procedures of this officer are governed by University Policy 3342-4-02.3.              In the event that the Student Academic Complaint Officer is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the FAC will select a replacement from the full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty.  If the SACO is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the Chair will appoint a member of the TT faculty and the FAC will appoint an second person from the full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty. 

  5. Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

    The policies and procedures which govern the Department’s Ad Hoc Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion (RTP) Committee are included in University Policy.  Procedural and operational guidelines for this committee are provided annually by the Office of the Provost.  This committee reviews materials relevant to the professional performance of faculty who are candidates for reappointment, tenure, or promotion in rank, and makes recommendations to the Chair on each of these personnel decisions.  The recommendations of this committee and the Chair, together with the materials assembled for the committees, are forwarded to the Dean of the College.