The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement. The FAC is elected directly by the full-time Faculty of the Department as defined in subhead III A Definition of the Faculty above.

The TT CBA provides that the tenured and tenure-track faculty of the Department may decide whether and to what extent full-time non-tenure (NTT) track faculty shall be represented on the FAC.

The TT CBA provides that the faculty of the Department shall ensure that Regional Campus faculty are appropriately represented on key Department and College committees, including but not limited to the FAC, the CAC, the RTP Committee, Search Committees, Review Committees, and committees considering curriculum, department or college policy, instructional standards, and program development.

FAC terms are for two (2) years. Elections are conducted for the FAC members to assume office at the beginning of the Fall Semester.The FAC shall consist of three tenured and tenure-track faculty members. The membership of the committee should reflect the major disciplinary subdivisions of the department: cultural anthropology, archaeology, and biological anthropology; ergo, membership should be composed of one person who represents one of these subdisciplines.

The FAC is convened and chaired at least once per term by the Chair who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings.  FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda.  Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the Chair, as needed, or upon a request by at least one-half of the members of the FAC.  The FAC elects one (1) member to act as the Department representative to the College Advisory Committee (hereinafter “CAC”); Normally the CAC representative will be the chair of the FAC.