Artist Talk: Marc Petrovic and Kari Russell-Pool

This event already has occurred.

Friday, September 13, 2019 - 12:00pm to Saturday, September 14, 2019 - 12:45pm

Center for the Visual Arts
Room 165

The School of Art presents an artist talk with glass artists Marc Petrovic and Kari Russell-Pool on Friday, September 13 from 12-1 p.m. in room 165 at the Center for the Visual Arts. Both artists are featured in the national curated exhibition Kent State Glass@50, on view in the CVA Gallery. The talk will center around both their individual and collaborative practices. This event is free and open to the public.

Both artists are alumni of the Cleveland Institute of Art and are also a married couple who share a studio in Cleveland, Ohio. Marc Petrovic's work can be seen in numerous private and public collections including the Museum of Art and Design in NY, the Corning Museum of Glass, and the Tacoma Glass Museum in WA. Marc was a 2017 recipient of an Ohio Artcouncil Individual Excellence Award. He served as the chair of the glass department at the Cleveland Institute of Art for three years and now focuses on studio work full time. 

Kari Russell-Pool is best known for her innovative approach to flame-worked glass that has been characterized as creating form from pattern. Using glass rods, hand colored and formed from furnace glass, she creates a unique pallet that is infinitely variable and also compatible with hot sculpted elements. Compelling her narratives is a fascination with the power of objects to tell stories. From quilts and teapots to sailor’s valentines, she is interested in the transformation of an object into an heirloom. Filled with personal content and commentary about our present society, the hard work of relationships, and experience as a mom, her work tells many stories. Russell-Pool's work can be widely viewed in public collections, among them The Charlotte Mint Museum, the Corning Museum of Glass, and Smithsonian Museum of American Art. She is the proud recipient of The Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award for years 2017 and 2019.