Events Archive

Janice Lessman-Moss headshot in front of weaving

Celebrating Janice Lessman-Moss

Saturday, May 7, 2022 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

The Kent State Museum and School of Art invite you to join us to celebrate Janice Lessman-Moss on Saturday, May 7 from 2 - 4 p.m. at the KSU Museum, located at 515 Hilltop Drive in Kent, Ohio. We will recognize her artistic accomplishments as displayed in her exhibition, "Dancing with the Distance" and her retirement from the School of Art after more than 40 years of service. Light refreshments will be served and remarks will take place at 3 p.m.

Portrait of artist April Bey with her artwork

April Bey: Art and the Millennial Natural Hair Movement

Friday, March 4, 2022 -
12:00pm to 1:00pm

Bahamian American interdisciplinary visual artist April Bey presents her work on Black hair and the Millennial Natural Hair Movement on YouTube. This talk features a chronological presentation of Bey's work from an academic career as a student to current works as part of an ongoing studio practice focusing on Black natural hair and the politics surrounding its various expressions in America and the diaspora. Q&A to follow. Banner image courtesy of Blair J. Meadows Photography  

School of Art Meet-Up 2021

Tuesday, August 31, 2021 -
1:30pm to 2:30pm

School of Art students, faculty and staff are invited to join the community for a welcome back to campus meet-up on Tuesday, August 31 staring at 1:30 p.m.! Students will have the opportunity to meet faculty, staff and peers while enjoying light refreshments. Students will also have the opportunity to win raffle prizes. This event will be held outside (weather permitting) by the Lester A. Lefton Esplanade entrance to the Center for the Visual Arts. Rain location - CVA atrium (masks required indoors)

Womanisms and Radical Feminisms

Friday, April 30, 2021 -
12:00pm to 1:30pm

Anti-Racism Town Hall for the School of Art

Thursday, April 8, 2021 - 4:00pm to Friday, April 9, 2021 - 4:45pm

Anti-Racism Town Hall - Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 101

Wednesday, March 10, 2021 - 12:00pm to Thursday, March 11, 2021 - 12:45pm

Left image is a sketch for Robert Smithson's Partially Buried Woodshed and right image is a photo of one of the students who helped with the project.

Acquiring History

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 - 11:00am to Sunday, September 27, 2020 - 4:45pm

Acquiring History: The 50 Year Legacy of Robert Smithson’s Partially Buried Woodshed at Kent State University KSU Downtown Gallery, 141 E. Main St., Kent, Ohio August 4 - September 26, 2020

Cancelled - Danger Came Smiling: Feminist Art and Popular Music

Friday, April 10, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, April 11, 2020 - 12:45pm

This event has been cancelled due to the university closures to help stop the spread of COVID-19. The School of Art presents a lecture with visiting critic/art historian Maria Elena Buszek, an author, curator and professor who addresses feminist issues in contemporary art and craft. Free for all.

Cancelled - Artist Talk - Andrea and John Gill

Friday, April 3, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, April 4, 2020 - 12:45pm

This event has been cancelled due to university closures this semester to help reduce the spread of COVID-19. The School of Art presents an artist talk with visiting artists in ceramics, Andrea and John Gill. Both are award-winning artists known for their colorful, decorative ceramics. Free admission.

Kent State National Ceramics Invitational - pictured work by Adam Posnak and Sanam Emami

Kent State National Ceramics Invitational 2020

Friday, March 6, 2020 - 5:00pm to Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 6:45pm

The School of Art Collection and Galleries at Kent State University presents “Kent State National Ceramics Invitational” from March 6 – April 11, 2020 at the KSU Downtown Gallery. The exhibition was curated by Peter Pincus and includes artists Sanam Emami, Hannah Thompsett, Adam Posnak, and Brooks Oliver. An opening reception will be held on Friday, March 6 from 5:00 – 7:00 p.m. Both the exhibition and reception are free and open to the public. The KSU Downtown Gallery is located at 141 East Main Street in Kent.

Pages

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 2, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Friday, June 3, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Saturday, June 4, 2022 -
12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 8, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 9, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Friday, June 10, 2022 -
5:00pm to 6:00pm