Kent State Faculty and Alumni Receive Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Awards

Seven Kent State University School of Art faculty and alumni have been awarded Ohio Arts Council’s Individual Excellence Awards for 2019.  This award includes a grant of $5000 for each individual artist or is split between collaborators.  Seventy-eight artists received funding for this year’s grant cycle.  Faculty members Peter Christian Johnson, Mahwish Chishty and Paul O’Keeffe (professor emeritus) were among the awardees.  Four alumni were also included on the list: Corrie Slawson, Rachel Smith, Jenniffer Omaitz and Oxana Dallas

According to the Ohio Arts Council website, Individual Excellence Awards are peer recognition of artists for the exceptional merit of a body of their work that advances or exemplifies the discipline and the larger artistic community. These awards support artists’ growth and development and recognize their work in Ohio and beyond.

Seventy-eight artists will receive funding for 75 applications—three of which were collaborations. Awarded through an open panel review process focused on the basis of exceptional merit of an artist’s past body of work, Individual Excellence Award funding gives artists the resources to experiment and explore their art forms, develop skills, and advance their careers.

Images: Left to right - Peter Christian Johnson (The Habit of Being), Paul O'Keeffe (As This Slips Away (Raft)), Mahwish Chishty (Hellfire)

POSTED: Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - 10:07am
UPDATED: Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 2:23pm