Administrative Secretary Receives 2014 President's Excellence Award

Terri Harmon, administrative secretary of the Department of Management and Information Systems is a 2014 recipient of the President’s Excellence Award. She was nominated by associate professors Cathy Bakes, Ph.D.; Debbie Knapp, Ph.D.; and Julia Levashina, Ph.D., all from the Department of Management and Information Systems.President's Excellence Award recipient Terri Harmon

“I feel honored to be recognized by my colleagues and the Kent State University Administration,” Harmon said.

Bakes nominated Harmon on the strategic goal of building commitment and loyalty to Kent State among constituents.

“I couldn’t be happier for Terri or think of anyone more deserving of the award,” Bakes said. “Terri is perpetually upbeat, smiling and cheerful, which creates a wonderful working environment and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. “

As the Administrative Secretary of the Department of Management Information Systems, Harmon serves as a liaison and acts on behalf of the department chair in regular dealings with people within the university and assists with academic scheduling of classes, reappointment, promotion, and tenure files as well as provide administrative support.

“In spite of holding a very challenging position due to the Management and Information Systems Department being so large and diverse, Terri is always willing to provide assistance and eager to help,” Bakes said. “When asked to do something new, she treats it like a puzzle to solve, laughs at the challenge, takes the initiative to figure it out, and then does it perfectly.”

Past College of Business Administration recipients of the President’s Excellence Award include Michelle Parrish Manning, director of marketing and communications and Kim Kearns, administrative clerk in the Undergraduate Programs Office.

The other 2014 award winners include:

  • Barbara Boltz, Project Director for Enrollment Data and Systems Support, Office of the Vice President
  • Meghan Cisar, Assistant Director of Student Success Programs
  • Scott Manzo, Building Maintenance Supervisor, Recreational Services
  • Scott McKinney, Director, Stewardship and Fund Administration
  • April Miller, Delivery Worker, Mail Services
  • Cassandra Pegg-Kirby, Assistant Director, Women’s Center
  • Joseph Walker, Carpenter, University Facilities Management
POSTED: Thursday, April 30, 2015 03:28 PM
Updated: Thursday, December 8, 2022 04:43 PM