Members of the 2012 winning team receive a $1000 scholarship to Kent State University’s College of Business

This year 38 students came from all parts of Ohio as well as from Pennsylvania and Michigan, representing 30 high schools.  They competed in nine teams to present a new restaurant concept. Each member of the winning team receives a $1000 scholarship valid if they choose to enroll in Kent State University’s College of Business for their Freshmen year.

About the Judges:

On the final day of the program, each team presented its restaurant concept to a panel of four judges.  Volunteering for this were Veronica Cook-Euell, Supply Diversity Program Manager at Kent State; Eli Faes, Public Affairs Director with the Ohio Board of Regents; Tara Regan from the Akron Urban League; and Craig Zamery,an Entrepreneur-in-Residence for the Kent’s College of Business.

The Team Coaches:

Each of the nine student teams was assigned a coach.The coaches were College of Business undergraduate students who helped the student teams to develop their concepts and to plan for the final presentation.  The coaches were:  Sarah Fortner, Michael Kerlee, D’Angelo McCornell, Jesse Ray, Lauren Romick, Daniel Rosbottom, Gabrielle Mingrone, Andrew Jennings and Erin Sebrell.

The Winning Teams:

The winning team presented an idea for an outstanding new restaurant.Congratulations to:

Barnabas  (BJ) Brennan a Senior at Cornerstone Christian Academy; Leandrea Udley a Junior at Twinsburg High School; Lacey Estle a Senior at Ashland High School; Joshua Heiferling a Sophomore at Kenston High School; and Nicole Lutz a Senior at Stow-Munroe Falls High School.

POSTED: Tuesday, July 17, 2012 12:00 AM
Updated: Sunday, February 05, 2023 02:00 AM