CCI Announces 2011 Award Winners | Kent State University

CCI Announces 2011 Award Winners

Six members of the CCI faculty and staff were recognized at the Fall 2011 Faculty Retreat for their distinguished service, teaching, advising and scholarship. Each winner will receive a plaque and $500 honorarium.
By Anne Dudley

Awards were distributed as follows:

  • Distinguished Scholar – Kenneth Visocky O'Grady, VCD associate professor
  • Distinguished Teaching – Paul Haridakis, Ph.D., COMM interim director
  • Outstanding Teaching – Miriam Kahn, SLIS lecturer – Columbus
  • Service – Sharon Marquis, JMC senior secretary
  • Advising – Amy Wilkens, CCI advisor serving JMC; and Nichole Egbert, Ph.D., COMM associate professor

The CCI Faculty and Staff Awards Program was established earlier this year, modeled after the Kent State Distinguished Teaching Awards. Although the CCI Distinguished Teaching Awards required a quick turnaround, announced no more than one month prior to the due date, several nominations were received for each category, according to Jennifer Kramer, APR, CCI director of public relations and marketing communications.

Several of the candidates said they felt honored, yet overall very surprised.

Egbert said, "I was honored by the nomination and very grateful for the award. There are many faculty members in the College who are phenomenal advisors, and who are also deserving of recognition. I have been advising graduate students for about 10 years in COMM."

"CCI is filled with talented people," Visocky O'Grady said. "I'm tremendously honored to receive this award."

"I was pleasantly surprised and humbled to receive the Distinguished Advising Award," Wilkens said. "CCI is a great College to work for, full of cooperative faculty, great staff and coworkers. The students make my job so enjoyable; I just love the interaction with them. Winning this award was just awesome!"