Faculty & Staff

You are here

Kent State University consistently wins awards for being a great place to work. The Employers Research Council has named Kent State University to the NorthCoast 99, one of the 99 great workplaces for top talent in Northeast Ohio several times, while the Chronicle of Higher Education has recently honored Kent State on its "Great Colleges to Work For" list.

Kent State continues to be recognized locally and nationally because of the unique skills, diverse talents, knowledge and “above and beyond” effort of faculty and staff. In return, Kent State offers many services and resources to assist its employees in their professional and personal development.

The College of Communication and Information has a highly talented faculty who are committed to excellence in education.

College of Communication and Information Faculty and Staff:

CCI Kent State Advising Staff:

Technology team:

TeleProductions Staff:

View CCI Faculty and Staff Profiles

Full-time Faculty in CCI Schools:

School of Communication Studies:

  • Elizabeth Graham, Director and Prof., egraha18@kent.edu
  • Aaron Bacue, Asst. Prof.
  • Michael Beam, Asst. Prof.
  • Jeffrey Child, Assoc. Prof.
  • Suzy D'Enbeau, Asst. Prof.
  • Nichole Egbert, Prof.
  • Catherine Goodall, Asst. Prof.
  • Paul Haridakis, Prof.
  • Jihyun Kim, Asst. Prof.
  • Mei-Chen Lin, Assoc. Prof.
  • Jennifer McCullough, Asst. Prof.
  • Janet Meyer, Assoc. Prof.
  • James Ponder, Asst. Prof.
  • Rekha Sharma, Asst. Prof.
  • David Trebing, Asst. Prof.

COMM Regional Facility

  • Laurie Bentley, Asst. Prof., (Ashtabula)
  • Bei Cai, Assoc. Prof. (Stark)
  • Alice Crume, Asst. Prof. (Tuscarawas)
  • Erin Hollenbaugh, Assoc. Prof. (Stark)
  • Jeff Nelson, Assoc. Prof. (Trumbull)
  • Lisa Waite, Assoc. Lecturer (Stark)
  • Carolyn Webber, Asst. Prof. (Stark)

View all Comm Faculty and Staff

School of Journalism and Mass Communication:

  • Thor Wasbotten, Prof. and Director, thor@kent.edu 
  • Luke Armour, Asst. Prof.   
  • Evan Bailey, Asst. Prof.
  • Candace Perkins Bowen, Assoc. Prof.
  • John Butte, Practictioner in Residence
  • Danielle Coombs, Assoc. Prof.
  • Gretchen Dworznik, Asst. Prof.
  • Michele Ewing, Assoc. Prof.
  • Dianne Finch, Asst. Prof.
  • David Foster, Asst. Prof.
  • Jeff Fruit, Prof.
  • Mark Goodman, Prof., Knight Chair
  • Scott Hallgren, Asst. Prof.
  • Karl Idsvoog, Assoc. Prof.
  • David LaBelle, Lecturer
  • Cheryl Ann Lambert, Asst. Prof.
  • Jan Leach, Assoc. Prof.
  • Jacqueline Marino, Assoc. Prof.
  • Stefanie Moore, Assoc. Prof.
  • Joe Murray, Assoc. Prof.
  • Tim Roberts, Lecturer
  • Eugene Shelton Jr., Assoc. Prof.
  • William Sledzik, Assoc. Prof.
  • David Smeltzer, Assoc. Prof.
  • Stephanie Smith, Asst. Prof.
  • Wendy Wardell, Lecturer
  • Traci Williams, Sr. Assoc. Lecturer
  • Chance York, Asst. Prof.
  • Susan Zake, Asst. Prof.

JMC Regional Facility

  • Beth Butler, Asst. Prof. (Stark)
  • Mitch McKenney, Asst. Prof (Stark)

View all JMC Faculty and Staff

School of Library and Information Science:

  • Kendra Albright, Prof. and Director, kalbrig7@kent.edu
  • Belinda Boon, Asst. Prof.
  • Leisa Gibbons, Asst. Prof. 
  • Karen Gracy, Assoc. Prof.
  • Lala Hajibayova, Asst. Prof.
  • Sara Meghan Harper, Assoc. Prof.
  • Christine Hudak, Prof. 
  • Emad Khazraee, Asst. Prof.
  • Kiersten Latham, Asst. Prof.
  • Nancy Lensenmeyer, Lecturer
  • Marianne Martens, Asst. Prof.
  • Miriam Matteson, Asst. Prof.
  • Rebecca Meehan, Asst. Prof.
  • Mary Anne Nichols, Sr. Lecturer
  • David Robins, Assoc. Prof.
  • David Roll, Asst. Prof.
  • Athena Salaba, Assoc. Prof. and Assoc. Director
  • Paul Sherman, Asst. Prof.
  • Catherine Smith, Asst. Prof.
  • Ben Woods, Lecturer
  • Marcia Lei Zeng, Prof.
  • Yin Zhang, Prof.

View all SLIS Faculty and Staff

School of Visual Communication Design:

  • David Robins, Assoc. Prof. and Interim Director, drobins@kent.edu
  • Jessica Barness, Asst. Prof.
  • Timothy Bell, Asst. Prof.
  • Jillian Coorey, Asst. Prof.
  • Christopher Darling, Asst. Prof.
  • Douglas Goldsmith, Asst. Prof
  • Joan Inderhees, Assoc. Lecturer
  • Sanda Katila, Assoc. Prof.
  • Larrie King, Asst. Prof. and Glyphix Creative Director
  • David Middleton, Prof.
  • Aoife Mooney, Asst. Prof.
  • Chris Ransom, Assoc. Prof.
  • Valora Renicker, Assoc. Prof.
  • Gretchen Rinnert, Assoc. Prof.
  • Ken Visocky O'Grady, Prof.

View all VCD Faculty and Staff