TV2 KSU named “Station of the Year” at the 2015 College Media Awards

Awarded first place for best newscast, best sportscast and second in special event coverage

TV2 KSU earned the first place Pinnacle Award for 'Station of the Year' at the College Media Association’s annual awards ceremony held recently in Austin, Texas. Additionally, TV2 took first place in best newscast and best sportscast and second place in special event coverage.

The voice of collegiate media and its advisers, the College Media Association (CMA) serves student media pros, staffs and programs with education, research and resources. This year’s Pinnacle Awards featured more than 3,000 total individual category entries from 279 colleges and universities. Of the more than 100 judges, nearly 90 percent were media professionals representing major media outlets including The New York Times, CBS Television, National Public Radio, USA Today, Associated Press and Chicago Tribune.

TV2 is Portage County’s only local television station. TV2 reaches more than 26,000 homes on Time Warner Cable channel 16 and more than 7,500 Kent State students on campus television channel 2-2. The station is also streamed live at TV2 is Kent State's source for anything the Kent community wants to know. Interactive news that tells you what is going on around you. Weather updates that keep you connected to the ever-changing weather in Northeast Ohio. Live sporting broadcasts and the source for all of Kent State's and Portage Trail Conference sports.

Founded in 1954 as the National Council of College Publications Advisers, CMA now has more than 700 members — the people who advise the nation’s collegiate media newspapers, yearbooks, magazines, broadcast and electronic media and their staffs  — from coast to coast. CMA communicates and works with professional media organizations and education associations on the local, state and national levels.

Photo caption: Pictured with the 2015 Pinnacle Awards are members of this year’s TV2 team, from left to right, Mitchell Felan, Producer of Portage Pulse; Ryan Dunn, Operations Manager; Vivian Feke, General Manager; Tyler Carey, Sports Director; and Jenson Strock, Former Programming Director. Photography credit to Nikos Frazier.

POSTED: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 - 2:49pm
UPDATED: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 - 3:05pm