Kent State at East Liverpool’s 2012 Wall of Fame Inductees

Kent State University at East Liverpool will hold its 24th annual Wall of Fame Honors Banquet at the East Liverpool Country Club on Friday, April 27. A 5:30 dinner program will be held to honor outstanding students and this year’s Wall of Fame award recipients.

2012 Wall of Fame inductees include:

  • D. Terrence O'Hara, '71
  • Suzanne Fitzgerald
  • Harold Bricker

O’Hara, a 1971 Kent State graduate will be awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for his professional accomplishments and community involvement. O’Hara has been the president of the W.C. Bunting Company for the last 32 years. He is an active member of the Kent State East Liverpool Advisory Board where he served as a past president. As an avid supporter of Kent State’s 100 Club, he has helped raise money for scholarships for many KSU students in financial need.

Earning the Friends’ of the East Liverpool Campus award are Suzanne Fitzgerald and Harold Bricker for their ongoing advocacy for Kent State East Liverpool. A long-time champion of Kent State East Liverpool, Fitzgerald began her journey with Kent State in 1974 as an instructor of nursing. In 1978, she became full-time faculty and eventually was promoted to director of the department. Fitzgerald guided Kent State East Liverpool’s nursing program until she was appointed as Kent State East Liverpool’s second Dean in 1988. She served in this role until her 2001 retirement. During her tenure, Fitzgerald was instrumental in working with community members to renovate the Mary Patterson building, which now houses Kent State East Liverpool’s nursing, physical therapist assistant, and occupational therapy assistant programs.

Bricker, a lifetime resident of East Liverpool and owner of Bricker’s, a restaurant located downtown  earned the recognition for his tireless efforts towards improving the community, financial support and for supporting the University’s commitment to providing quality education in the tri-state area. Bricker is a former East Liverpool High School teacher and member of the United States Army. While in the Army, he was responsible for the placement of 14,000 men. Bricker remains committed to expanding higher education access.

Kent State East Liverpool faculty and staff will also celebrate the academic achievement s of their students. These individuals will be recognized for both scholarly excellence and service to the East Liverpool community. In addition the campus will continue its tradition of presenting the Faculty and Staff Wall of Fame and the Dr. Joan D. Gailey Memorial Scholarships.

Tickets for the banquet can be purchased at the Kent State East Liverpool Main Building reception area until Friday, April 20. Ticket prices are $25 each or two for $45. For more information please call the East Liverpool Campus at 330-385-3805.

POSTED: Wednesday, April 18, 2012 01:30 PM
UPDATED: Thursday, December 08, 2022 09:17 AM

Related Articles

Columbiana County Rising Scholars are truly reaching for the stars!

Program Director Dr. Jessica Paull just learned that the hygiene kits scholars made last year through the NASA HUNCH program are headed into space. They will be delivered to the International Space Station, but the specific date and mission has not been announced.

Over the summer, major renovations were made in several classrooms on the Salem and East Liverpool campuses, changing how students learn and faculty teach.

Each campus now houses what is known as an active learning space featuring six 75-inch touch screen workstations; six whiteboards; flexible furniture; and technology that allows the instructor to share images between all the monitors in each room.

Starting this fall, Kent State University will offer an evidence-based suicide prevention course through funding from the Ohio Suicide Prevention Foundation (OSPF). The class will be offered through the Kent State College of Applied and Technical Studies’ Bachelor of Social Work program at the Ashtabula, Salem and Tuscarawas campuses.

Kent State is the first university in Ohio to provide the course to its students outside of the original course developers at the University of Cincinnati, Old Dominion University, and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.