Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine Inducted Two New Members into Hall of Fame Society in Inaugural Student & Alumni Weekend

Independence, Ohio – August 28, 2017 – Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine (CPM) in partnership with the Ohio Podiatric Medical Student Association (OPMSA), held its Inaugural Student & Alumni Weekend August 18th – 20th, welcoming alumni, students, faculty and staff to honor returning classes, and award recipients as well as two new members who were inducted into CPM’s Hall of Fame Society. The Student & Alumni Weekend was sponsored by the OCPM Foundation. The OCPM Foundation serves to provide, foster, enhance, and encourage grants related to podiatric medical education and / or research.

The Student & Alumni Weekend included three days of events including a Friday night Luau held at the College of Podiatric Medicine in Independence, Ohio with entertainment by Aloha Chicago. OPMSA hosted its Student Symposium on Saturday morning at the College, including workshops by Treace Medical Concepts, Inc. and Biopro Inc.

John E. George, DPM, Class of 1964 and Elliott W. Biggs, DPM, Class of 1970 were inducted during Saturday night’s Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner at the Tudor Arms Hotel, Cleveland. Every year, the College of Podiatric Medicine recognizes distinguished alumni who display dedication to the College and contribute to achievements within the podiatric medical community. The weekend came to a close with the Annual OPMSA Golf Tournament on Sunday at the Shale Creek Golf Club in Medina, Ohio.

A full listing of award recipients for the KSUCPM Inaugural Student & Alumni Weekend are as follows:

  • Staff of the Year Award: Lester Williams, Custodial Worker
  • Faculty of the Year Award: Tim Whittingham, Adjunct Professor, Pre-Clinical Sciences
  • Student of the Year Award: Will Stephens, Class of 2018
  • OCPM Foundation Student Leadership Award: Rachel Robinson, Class of 2019
  • Thomas V. Melillo, DPM Scholarship Award: Sai Narra, Class of 2018
  • Young Physician Professional Achievement Award: Michael B. Canales, DPM, Class of 2004
  • Alumni Service Award: Gene M. Pascarella, DPM, MBA, Class of 1982
  • 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees: John E. George, DPM, Class of 1964 & Elliott W. Biggs, DPM, Class of 1970.

Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine’s dean, Allan M. Boike, DPM, addressed the sponsors of the Student & Alumni Weekend, in appreciation of their support of the Student Scholarship Fund. The weekend hosted over 200 students, alumni and guests with nearly 250 guests for its Friday night Luau, alone.  

Founded in 1916, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine is one of nine accredited podiatry colleges in the nation, and is a four-year, graduate level medical college, granting the degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine. The mission of CPM is to educate students to be highly competent doctors of podiatric medicine who will excel in residency training.

Save the date for this year’s Student & Alumni Weekend August 17 – 19, 2018, complete with full CME Program

POSTED: Friday, January 5, 2018 11:11 AM
Updated: Friday, January 19, 2018 01:44 PM