A Look Back at 2019 Alumni Reunion Weekend

3rd Annual Alumni Reunion Weekend honors CPM alumni while raising critical funds for student scholarships.

It has become tradition that each year, during the third week in August, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine (CPM) opens its doors to podiatrists around the country for a weekend of continuing education and alumni celebrations, all in the name of the college’s top priority – student scholarships. This year, CPM saw its most successful event in recent history, as nearly 400 community members, 270 of which being its own alumni, attended the North Coast Foot & Ankle Symposium. The 4-day symposium offered 25 continuing education contact hours, including workshops sponsored by Wright Medical, Legally Mine, USA, Erchonia Corporation, Podiatry Content Connection and Janssen Pharmaceutical, as well as a 15% discount from Podiatry Insurance Company of America (PICA).

In the evenings following the symposium, the entire CPM alumni community was invited to partake in a series of social events in the Cleveland area. Friday night brought guests to The Corner Alley in downtown Cleveland, which joined current and past students together in a casual, social setting. Saturday evening saw the Alumni Awards & Hall of Fame Dinner at The Cleveland Museum of Natural History to honor 2019 alumni award winners as well as Hall of Fame inductees Winfield E. Butlin, DPM, Class of 1964, The Late Jay D. Lifshen, DPM, Class of 1976, and Steven P. Brancheau, DPM, Class of 1980. In addition, the classes of 1969, 1979, and 1994  celebrated their 50th, 40th and 25th reunions with their classmates throughout the weekend.

Celebrations concluded with the Annual OPMSA Golf Tournament on Sunday at the Cleveland Metro Parks Seneca Golf Course, which is hosted each year by CPM students belonging to the Ohio Podiatric Medical Students Association (OPMSA).

A full listing of award recipients for the 3rd Annual Alumni Reunion Weekend are as follows:

  • KSUCPM Service Award: David H. Gross, DPM, Class of 1971 ; Donna M. Pacchioni, EMBA
  • Distinguished Alumni Award: Christopher F. Hyer, DPM, Class of 2000
  • Young Physician Professional Award: William T. DeCarbo, DPM, Class of 2004
  • Thomas V. Melillo, DPM Full Tuition Scholarship Award: Kristen Brett, MSIV
  • OPMSA Outstanding Podiatric Medical Student Award: Kayla Robinson, MSIV
  • PICA Scholarships: Anne Cossogue, MISV ; Alex Schaeffer, MISV

All weekend events were sponsored by OCPM Foundation, serving to enhance the education and practice of podiatric medicine nationally through generous giving, scholarship and grants to support innovative causes that will improve or invent new solutions in podiatry, and nurture the community of podiatrists in particular for educational and research projects.

Next year’s Alumni Reunion Weekend will be held August 13 – 16, 2020! Submissions for the 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees and alumni award recipients will be open October 1 – December 30, 2019. Click Here for nomination criteria and guidelines. 

POSTED: Friday, August 30, 2019 - 10:28am
UPDATED: Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 2:21pm