News & Announcements


Dr. Khan has been visiting MIET (Model Institute of Engineering and Technology) in Jammu, India.  MIET is known as one of the best engineering institutions in the state of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) in the Himalayan Mountains of Northern India.  Dr. Khan is exploring future collaboration opportunities between MIET and KSU Computer Science, but he also presented a seminar to 200 MIET students on Next-Generation Networks with a specific focus on Software-Defined Networking. 

Computer Science Department Welcomes New Faculty

Welcome Dr. Jong-Hoon Kim!  Dr. Kim's research focuses on "advanced telerobotic systems and their embedded systems which allow performing critical missions safely and effectively from a distance.  Dr. Kim's PhD is awarded by Louisiana State University (2011).  The ATR (Advanced Telerobotic Research) Lab is located in 236, Mathematical Sciences Building.  

Join us in welcoming Dr. Qiang Guan to the faculty of Computer Science.  Dr. Guan earned his Ph.D. in 2014 from the University of North Texas.  He comes to us from his employment as a scientist with the Los Alamos National Laboratory.  Dr. Guan's research focuses on a "variety of topics (related to) dependability and resilience assurance in cloud systems and High Performance Computing Systems and building user defined software stack in HPC infrastructure."

ParkApps ...

ParkApps is a new app to help you explore the 33,000-acre Cuyahoga Valley National Park located between Cleveland and Akron.  It is the product of an NSF grant led by Dr. Rick Ferdig of Lifespan Development and Education Sciences and Dr. C.C. Lu, Professor and Assistant Chair, Computer Science.  ParkApps is available now for iPhone users, but Android is on its way.  To download this free app, fo the App Store on your phone and search for ParkApps.  The development will continue, so expect regular updates to come along.  ParkApps is also on Twitter (@appsforparks), Facebook (ParkApps) and Instagram (appsforparks).