Courage in Student Journalism Awards

Since 2009, the Center for Scholastic Journalism at Kent State University has been the presenting sponsor the Courage in Student Journalism Awards. The awards are co-sponsored by the Student Press Law Center and the National Scholastic Press Association.

The two awards recognize middle school or high school journalists and a media adviser or school administrator who have stood in support of the First Amendment. The student journalist and adviser or school administrator need not be from the same school.

The first award is presented to a student journalist who has shown determination, despite difficulty or resistance, in lawfully exercising his or her First Amendment press rights.

A second award is presented to a student media adviser or school administrator who has demonstrated support, under difficult circumstances, for the First Amendment press rights of his or her school's student media.

For a list of past winners of the award see the Student Press Law Center website.

To enter: To nominate yourself or someone else, submit a written description (not to exceed 600 words) on how the nominee's circumstances meet the entry criteria, along with any relevant supporting materials or press clips. Each entry should also include the address, phone number and e-mail address of the nominee. It is sometimes necessary to contact a nominee during the summer, so include summer contact information if it is different.

Deadline for entries: Entries must be emailed or postmarked by June 8 of each year to be considered for that year's award.

Presentation of awards: Awards are presented during a ceremony at the Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association fall convention.

Submit entry materials to:



Or mail to:

Courage in Student Journalism Awards

Student Press Law Center

1608 Rhode Island Ave., N.W., Suite 211

Washington, DC 20036