Mark Goodman joined Kent State's School of Media and Journalism (formerly the School of Journalism and Mass Communication) in January 2008 as the first Knight Chair in Scholastic Journalism. He retired in July 2021. Before becoming the Knight Chair, Goodman served over 22 years as executive director of the Student Press Law Center, a national organization that serves as a legal advocate and educator of student journalists. Goodman has a degree in journalism from the University of Missouri–Columbia and his law degree from Duke University. He has taught at a number of institutions including the Poynter Institute, the American University in Washington, D.C., Bowling Green State University and Virginia Commonwealth University. Goodman has received over two dozen national awards for his work in support of student journalism including a First Amendment awards from the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press and the Society of Professional Journalists, the Intellectual Freedom Award from the National Council of Teachers of English, the Gerald M. Sass Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Mass Communication from the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication as well as other awards from the Columbia University Scholastic Press Association the Journalism Education Association, the National Scholastic Press Association and College Media Advisers. The School plans to conduct a search to fill the vacancy.



Candace Perkins Bowen


Candace Perkins Bowen, MJE, is a professor in Kent State's School of Journalism and Mass Communication and director of both the Center for Scholastic Journalism and the Ohio Scholastic Media Association. After more than 20 years advising high school newspapers and yearbooks in Illinois and suburban Washington, D.C., Bowen came to the university in June 1995. Since then she has developed additional summer and weekend workshops and outreach to high school students and their teachers and has helped launch and now oversees the online master's degree for journalism educators. A former Dow Jones News Fund Journalism Teacher of the Year, she has served as the president of the Journalism Education Association, set up that organization's JEAHELP listserv with its more than 1,000 members and ran it for 13 years. She is part of the Student Press Law Center's Steering Committee for its Advisory Council and past head of the Scholastic Journalism Division of AEJMC. You may contact her at 330-672-8297 or




John Bowen's Headshot


John Bowen, MJE, is an adjunct professor in journalism sequence and assists in the development of online journalism educator master's program at Kent State and is chair of Journalism Education Association (JEA) Scholastic Press Rights Commission. Bowen has been a member of the SPLC Board of Directors and convener of the SPLC Advisory Council and a high school journalism teacher and adviser. Recognition includes Dow Jones News Fund National Journalism Teacher of the Year; National Scholastic Press Association's Pioneer Award; Columbia Scholastic Press Association's Gold Key Award and CSPA's Charles R. O'Malley for Excellence in Teaching award. Bowen co-authors a law column in Dow Jones News Fund “Adviser Update”; co-authored the recently updated “Principal's Guide to Scholastic Journalism”; numerous magazine and journal articles and the workbook to go with Law of the Student Press. He has a bachelor's in education and a master's in journalism from Kent State University. You may contact him at 330-672-3666 or






Sarah Nichols, MJE, is the instructor for the course Advising Yearbook in the online master's program. With 15 years of advising experience, Nichols teaches publications, journalism, photojournalism, graphic communications and mass media at Whitney High School in Rocklin, Calif., where she advises award-winning student media. Nichols serves as president of the Journalism Education Association (JEA) and is past president of the Journalism Education Association of Northern California. She serves on the JEA Scholastic Press Rights Committee and Digital Media Committee. Nichols was named National Yearbook Adviser of the Year in 2011 and earned the Pioneer Award in 2008 from the National Scholastic Press Association. Co-author of "1-2-3 Yearbook Adviser's Companion" from Jostens Publishing, she also wrote the current edition of the NSPA Yearbook Guidebook. Nichols earned a bachelor's degree in journalism from Indiana University and a master's from Indiana Wesleyan University and has been certified as a Master Journalism Educator from JEA.

Val Kibler, MJE, is a graduate of Kent State’s Journalism Education master’s degree program and now teaches Advising Student Media, one of three Dow Jones News Fund Journalism Teachers of the year as faculty in this program. She advises print and online media at Harrisonburg (Virginia) High School and was on the Board of Directors of the National Scholastic Press Association and is now the vice president of the Journalism Education Association.

Susan Hathaway Tantillo, MJE, taught Reporting for Mass Media in the online master's program since its inception and retired in 2019. She still works with students as part of many Master’s Professional Project committees, however. Susan has a bachelor's degree in English from Purdue University and a master's in journalism from Indiana University. She taught journalism and English and advised the student newspaper at Wheeling (Illinois) High School from 1971 until her retirement in 2001. Beginning in 1978 Susan was a board member of Journalism Education Association. She served JEA members in appointed and elected positions until 2009. In retirement from full-time teaching, she continues to present learning sessions for students and advisers at state and regional conferences, to judge state scholastic journalism competitions and to mentor advisers.. Susan is co-author of “Applying NCTE/IRA Standards in Classroom Journalism Projects” and “Introduction to Journalism,” a high school text.

Lori King recently retired as a photojournalist with the Toledo Blade newspaper in Toledo, Ohio, so she could focus more on teaching photography and multimedia at Owens Community College and Kent State. She began her journalism career in the U.S. Army at age 18. She served eight years active army, 10 years Army National Guard and her final three years in the Air National Guard, retiring in 2000 with 21 years of journalism, photojournalism and newspaper editor-in-chief experience. While in the service, King earned Print Journalist of the Year titles three times and Editor of the Year once. She earned her BS in photojournalism from Kent State in 1991, and in 2012 graduated from the Journalism Educator's program.

Casey Nichols, MJE, is the instructor for Reporting, Writing and Editing. Casey has been named the Yearbook Adviser of the Year from JEA and has earned NSPA’s Pioneer Award and JEA’s Medal of Merit.  He advised student media at Rocklin (California) High School for more than 30 years and has a master’s degree in journalism from Ball State University.