Department Committees

All Department committees are advisory and recommendatory to the Chair.   The membership, structure, and function of some of the Department's committees are governed by University, Administrative and Operational Policies and the applicable CBA.   The Chair may establish other departmental standing and ad hoc committees in consultation with the FAC.  The Chair will welcome requests from faculty members for positions on the Department’s various committees.   The Chair, when making appointments to Department committees, will be mindful of the diversity of disciplines within the Department and will consider the expertise and interests necessary for the effective functioning of specific committees.

  1. The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

    The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable CBA.Tenure-track members of the FAC are elected directly by all tenure-track faculty of the department. The non-tenure track member of the FAC is elected directly by all non-tenure-track faculty of the department. FAC terms are for three (3) years. Elections are conducted in the spring semester and the FAC members assume office at the beginning of the fall semester. The FAC shall consist of four tenured and tenure‐track faculty members, one of which must be from a regional campus, along with one full-time non-tenure track faculty member.

    The FAC is convened and chaired at least once per term by the chair who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings. FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda. Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the chair, as needed, or upon a request by at least one‐half of the members of the FAC. The FAC elects one (1) member to act as the department representative to the College Advisory Committee (hereinafter “CAC”). The FAC shall advise the chair on the hire of all part‐time instructors in Geography on the Kent Campus.

  2. The Curriculum Committee (CC)

    The CC is composed of the graduate coordinator, undergraduate coordinator, and at least three (3) other faculty members elected by the full-time faculty for terms of three years.  Elections shall be held in the Spring for terms to begin in the Fall. The CC supervises and coordinates the Department’s undergraduate and graduate curricular programs.   The CC makes recommendations on any and all matters which affect the academic programs of the Department including but not limited to course scheduling, faculty proposals for new courses, changes in course content, major requirements, and other curricular matters. The CC reviews and decides student appeals regarding course substitution.   For any curricular changes to be implemented, they must first be approved by the CC.  These changes may include, but are not limited to, changes in scheduling of courses, course content, tracks, and requirements.

    The CC shall elect one (1) member with full graduate faculty status to serve on the College Curriculum Committee.  If no member of the CC has full graduate faculty status, the candidate with full graduate faculty status who had the next highest vote total in the election of the CC will serve as an additional CC member and as the Department’s representative to the College Curriculum Committee.

  3. The Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

    The GSC is composed of at least three (3) full-time faculty members with full (F3/F4) graduate faculty status, elected by all full-time faculty of the Department, for terms of three years.   These members should collectively represent the department’s expertise in physical geography, human geography, and GIS.  The GSC assists the Graduate Coordinator, who serves as the GSC chair, with the oversight and development of the Department’s graduate program.   The GSC reviews proposals for new graduate courses, changes in course content and related curricular matters, and conducts periodic reviews of the Department’s graduate program as a whole. The GSC is responsible for monitoring the progress and academic performance of graduate students in the Department.   The GSC along with all Graduate Faculty of F-3, A-3, or F-4 status evaluate applications for admission and graduate appointments.

  4. Student Academic Complaint Committee

    The Student Academic Complaint Committee is composed of three faculty members and at least one student, all of whom are appointed by the FAC. The FAC, or any other standing committee of the department determined by the FAC, with the addition of at least one student, may also function as the SACC. The Chair of the SACC is elected by the SACC at the beginning of each academic year. The policies and procedures of this committee are governed by University Policy 4‐02.3. The policy provides for only one SACC in each department.

    In the event that a member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the FAC will select a replacement from the full‐time tenured and tenure‐track faculty.   If the Chair of the SACC is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the Chair will appoint a member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee to chair the committee and the FAC will appoint an additional member to the committee from the full‐time tenured and tenure‐track faculty.

  5. Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

    The policies and procedures which govern the Department’s Ad Hoc Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion (RTP) Committee are included in University Policy.   Procedural and operational guidelines for this committee are provided annually by the Office of the Provost. This committee reviews materials relevant to the professional performance of faculty who are candidates for reappointment, tenure, or promotion in rank, and to make recommendations to the Chair on each of these personnel decisions.   The recommendations of this committee and the Chair, together with the materials assembled for the committees, are forwarded to the Dean of the College.

  6. Other Departmental Committees

    The Chair may establish, charge, and appoint the membership of additional departmental standing or ad hoc committees as required by the Department, such as a Search Committee, Chairperson Search Committee, and Chairperson Review Committee.   In establishing departmental committees, naming members and designating a committee chair, the Chair shall consult with the FAC.  The Chair will welcome requests and preferences from the faculty before establishing and making appointments to departmental committees.