Student Persistence Award 

Student Persistence Award 

(Lester A. Lefton Student Persistence Award)

Student Persistence Award 

Multiple $500 scholarships are awarded to Kent State University students. The Student Persistence Award is awarded in August each year. Scholarship recipients will receive a revised award letter prior to the start of the fall term (or at the end of the awarding process).

Eligibility Criteria 

1. Junior or senior class standing as of spring 2020 (not graduating in the spring or summer 2020).

2. Complete the 2020-2021 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible after October 1, 2019. Complete the FAFSA online at Be sure to designate Kent State University to receive your FAFSA results (Federal School Code: 003051). Failure to complete the FAFSA will eliminate you from consideration for need-based scholarships.

3. Open to all campuses.

4. In order to be considered for the scholarship included on this application, you must:

  • Fully admitted student or are a continuing student in good standing at Kent State University.
  • Submit application in its entirety with the correct KSU Student Banner ID number.
  • Complete the personal statement and any additional scholarship requirements and/or questions.

Academic Year 2020-2021 Student Persistence Award Applications

Please contact Shana Lee, Director for the Office of Diversity and Inclusion Leadership, for an application at or (330) 672-8582. Completed applications must be submitted by Friday, May 7, 2020