No Concentration | School of Digital Sciences | Kent State University

No Concentration

While the six Bachelor of Science concentrations target specific career paths, a "No Concentration" option provides flexibility for students interested in other career paths within Digital Sciences.

Students choosing the No Concentration option can work with the school’s advising staff to choose electives within the program that match their particular interests and career goals.

Bachelor of Science in Digital Sciences
Major Program Requirements 

  • DSCI 10010 Society, Culture and the Digital Sciences
  • DSCI 10410 Information Ethics and Social Responsibility
  • DSCI 13210 Design Processes and Principles
  • DSCI 15310 Computational Thinking and Programming
  • DSCI 34410 Digital Information Management and Processing
  • DSCI 41510 Project Management and Team Dynamics
  • DSCI 41610 Digital Systems Security
  • DSCI 40910 Capstone in Digital Sciences
  • MIS 24053 Introduction to Computer Applications
  • MIS 24065 Web Programming
  • MIS 44043 Database Management Systems
  • TECH 46411 Requirements Engineering and Analysis
Choose 9 credits of approved electives in Digital Sciences or a related area, including:

Communication Studies, Computer Technology, Computer Science, Instructional Technology, Journalism and Mass Communication, Management and Information Systems, Technology and Visual Communication Design

Additional major requirements for students not choosing a specific concentration

Students not choosing a specific concentration must choose 3 of the following additional major requirements:
  • DSCI 10310 My Story on the Web
  • DSCI 23410 Cognition in Technology
  • DSCI 26010 Telecommunication Infrastructure
  • DSCI 31010 Enterprise Architecture
  • DSCI 33310 Human-Computer Interaction
Students not choosing a specific concentration must also choose 12 additional credits of approved electives in Digital Sciences or a related area