Principal License | Educational Leadership K-12 | Kent State University

Principal License

Principal License Programs

The State of Ohio offers principal licenses for three different ranges of grade levels:

  • Principal - Grades PK - 6
  • Principal - Grades 4 - 9
  • Principal - Grades 5 - 12

Principal Licensure - Plan of Study (All Grades) (PDF)

All principal licenses require a master's degree plus an additional 9 hours of course work in Educational Administration.

The Ohio Principal License is intended for those who plan to serve the educational system as leader of a public or private school. Two years of successful teaching under a professional teaching license at the age level for which the principal license is sought is required by the State of Ohio.

Upon completion of the coursework for the principal license, candidates are required to take the Ohio Educational Leadership Assessment* by the Ohio Assessments for Educators. All principal and administrative specialist candidates take the same assessment. Please allow 3-4 weeks for the scores to arrive at Kent.

*Please note: Beginning September 1, 2013, the Ohio Assessments for Educators will begin to replace the Praxis II series as the required Ohio educator licensure assessments.

The Educational Leadership Assessment is a computer-based assessment with 70 multiple-choice questions, 3 constructed-response assignments, and 1 case study written assignment. The Assessment is 225 minutes long and a passing score is 220.

Following a successful entry year experience, the principal license will be added to a valid professional teacher license.

To begin taking coursework in the Educational Administration program, your first step is to become a Kent State University graduate student. Learn more about the different application options.

  • If you are interested in licensure only OR if you are interested in earning a license along with a degree, apply today.