Kappa Sigma Upsilon Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota

Chi Sigma Iota is an international honor society for counseling students, professional counselors, and counselor educators. The society was established in 1985 by counseling professionals in the State of Ohio. Chi Sigma Iota's mission is to promote recognition to those in the counseling profession who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, research, and clinical practice. The members are dedicated to the counseling profession and the advancement of the profession.


Membership in Chi Sigma Iota is open to current students in CES program who have completed at least one semester of full-time graduate coursework in a counselor education degree program, have earned a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 system, and be recommended for membership in CSI by the chapter including promise for a capacity to represent the best about professional counseling including appropriate professional behavior, ethical judgment, emotional maturity, and attitudes conducive to working to advocate for wellness and human dignity for all. Invitations are generally extended to students during the spring semester. New members are then inducted during the Induction Banquet held in March or April. We welcome and encourage all CES students to participate in the activities and functions we sponsor. If you wish to become more involved, have questions, or contributions, do not hesitate to contact any of the officers or faculty advisors.

To become a member of Chi Sigma Iota Kappa Sigma Upsilon chapter go to: Chi Sigma Iota website

  • Click on the link that says New Member Registration
  • Complete the application making sure you enter the following:
  • Enter Dr. Cassandra Storlie for chapter faculty advisor
  • Enter Kappa Sigma Upsilon for chapter name
  • Enter Kent State University for university

To change your affiliation to the Kappa Sigma Upsilon chapter:

  • Click on the Chapter Change Form, under the Membership Tab on the Left
  • Complete the from making sure you enter Kappa Sigma Upsilon the Transferred Chapter

Our Chapters History: Kappa Sigma Upsilon is the Kent State University Chapter and was organized in 1986 with Dr. Donald Bubenzer serving as the Faculty Advisor. Dr. Betsy Page served as Faculty Advisor between 1995-1996, and Dr. Cynthia Osborn between 1996-2002. Dr. Jason McGlothlin served as Faculty Co-Advisor with Dr. Osborn and Dr. Steve Rainey between 2001-2003. Dr. Rainey served as Faculty Advisor between 2003 -2009 and Dr. Guillot Miller served as Co-Advisor. Dr. Jane Cox and Dr. John West served as Chapter Faculty Advisors during 2012-2013. Currently, Dr. Cassie Storlie is the Chapter Faculty Advisor with Dr. Steve Rainey serving as back up Chapter Faculty Advisor.

Awards: The Kappa Sigma Upsilon Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota earned the 2004 and 2007 Outstanding Chapter Awards for Large Chapters. This award takes into account such things as the chapter's promotion of scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership, and excellence in counseling. It also takes into account the ability of the chapter to retain and contact members and the strengths of the members, executive board, and committee chairpersons.

For the most up to date information about the Kappa Sigma Upsilon chapter of Chi Sigma Iota, join our Group Page or friend us on Facebook:

Special Events for SPRING 2019
  • Supervision Symposium 
    Friday, May 10 at 9:00 AM- 4:00 PM
    200 White Hall (Read Room)

2018-2019 CSI Leadership Team

Chapter Faculty Advisor: Dr. Cassie Storlie

Back Up Chapter Faculty Advisor: Dr. J. Byrd

President: Brittany Gutierrez

President Elect: Kimberlee Barrella

Secretary: Vikas Sohal

Treasurer: Jessica Kidd


Social Committee: Brittany Gutierrez and Kimberlee Barrella

Community Outreach Committee: Emmett Drugan

Professional Development Committee: Brittany Gutierrez, Kimberlee Barrella, and Emmett Drugan

Wellness Committee: Theresa Farello, Emmett Drugan, Jessica Strumbly, and Natalie Ricciutti

Newsletter: Stephanie Hammond

Fundraising: Rachel Gombash
Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program Representative: Theresa Farello
First Year Outreach Master's Level: Rachel Gombash, Maggie McCreary, Megan Andrews, and Jessica Kidd

First Year Outreach Doctoral Level: Brittany Gutierrez, Alicia Hall, and Stephanie Marder