School of Communication Studies to Honor Alumni for Contributions to Profession | e-Inside | Kent State University

School of Communication Studies to Honor Alumni for Contributions to Profession

Taylor Hall

Alumni Carol Wilder, Scott Myers, JaRel Clay and Arianne Gasser to be recognized at Alumni Awards

Four Kent State University alumni will be honored on Friday, Sept. 22, at the School of Communication Studies Alumni Awards and Reception in Taylor Hall. The event is part of the College of Communication and Information's celebration of Taylor Hall's reopening, Sept. 21-23.Taylor Hall

Three distinct awards are given at the annual celebration:

  • Centennial Award, a recognition given to individuals of great stature and service to the university who have gained national or international recognition for their work in communication studies. This will be awarded to Carol Wilder, Ph.D., ’74, an accomplished professor of media theory and criticism, impactful Fulbright Scholar, celebrated writer and filmmaker, and dean of the School of Media Studies at The New School in New York.
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, an award given to a graduate from the School of Communication Studies with more than 15 years of professional experience and equal contribution to the field of communication and his or her career. This will be awarded to Scott Myers, Ph.D., ’95, a notable professor of instructional, family and organizational communication; a prolific writer of scholarly works; and Peggy Rardin McConnell Endowed Chair in the Department of Communication Studies at West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia.
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award, given to communication studies’ graduates who have shown outstanding success in their chosen career with five to 15 years of professional experience. The school will recognize JaRel Clay, '11; digital content manager at the Center for a New American Security in Washington, D.C.; and Arianne Gasser, '11; research associate at the O'Neill Consulting Group in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

This celebration is an opportunity to network and learn more about the contributions of these individuals. Kent State professionals, alumni and students are invited to attend and honor these communication professionals.

The festivities will begin at 5:30 p.m. with the program beginning promptly at 6:30 p.m. While walk-ins will be welcome, please RSVP if you plan to attend so that we can estimate an accurate count for food and beverage.

Visit to learn more about the award winners. Visit to register for one of the other School of Communication Studies’ events celebrating the Taylor Hall Reopening, including a Student and Alumni Welcome Picnic that is open to the campus community.