David Kaplan, Department of Geography

David Kaplan, Ph.D., Department of Geography, was elected vice president of the American Association of Geographers for 2018-2019. Dr. Kaplan, an American Geographical Society (AGS) councilor and editor of the society’s flagship Geographical Review journal, will automatically be elected as president for the 2019-2020 term, which will be followed by another term as past president in 2020-2021. He will succeed Dr. Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach of the University of Texas-Austin.


The American Geographical Society is a 21st-century learning society dedicated to the advancement of geographic thinking, knowledge and understanding across business, government, academe, social sectors, and most importantly with teachers and students. Established in 1851, AGS is the oldest professional geographical organization in the United States. It is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in geographical research and education for more than 166 years. The mission of AGS is to advance and promote geography in business, government, science and education.

POSTED: Friday, March 16, 2018 11:25 AM
UPDATED: Saturday, December 03, 2022 01:02 AM