Department Chair | Computer Science Handbook | Kent State University

Department Chair

The Department Chair (hereinafter “Chair”) is the chief administrative officer of the Department and reports directly to and is accountable to the Dean of the College (hereinafter “Dean”). The Chair is responsible for recording, maintaining, and implementing the policies and procedures stated in this Handbook through regular and thorough consultation with the Departmental faculty and the Department’s various committees as provided in the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA).

The Chair is an ex officio, non-voting member of all Department committees, except where this is specifically prohibited by University Policy or the CBA. The Chair may make appointments to Department committees and to the various administrative and service positions in the Department in accordance with this Handbook and the Department Operating Procedures.

The selection, review, and reappointment of the Chair is the responsibility of the Dean, who consults with the Departmental faculty on such matters. Procedures for the selection, review and reappointment of the Chair are included in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement.