The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement. The FAC is elected directly by the full-time Faculty of the Department as defined in Section I (Matters of Academic Unit Governance and Related Procedures) above.
The TT CBA provides that the tenured and tenure-track faculty of the Department may decide whether and to what extent full-time non-tenure (NTT) track faculty shall be represented on the FAC.
The TT CBA provides that the faculty of the Department ensure that Regional Campus faculty are appropriately represented on key Department and College committees, including but not limited to the FAC, the CAC, the RTP Committee, Search Committees, Review Committees, and committees considering curriculum, department or college policy, instructional standards, and program development.
The FAC will consist of five members, plus the Department Chairperson who will serve in a non-voting ex-officio capacity. All five members of the FAC will be elected by the regular members of the Department of History from a slate of candidates prepared in the following manner. Each spring the Department Chairperson will prepare a ballot including the names of all regular members of the Department eligible for election, excluding those who are finishing their second consecutive one-year term, those who are to be on sabbatical during the next academic year, and those serving as Graduate and Undergraduate  Coordinators. These ballots will be collected at or before the Department's final academic year meeting and will be counted at that meeting.
In order to ensure that the FAC is a representative of the Department as a whole, the ballots will be counted in the following manner. The candidate from the Regional Campuses who has received the largest number of votes will first be determined and declared elected. The Kent Campus  candidate  from  each professorial rank in which there are at least three members within the department (all campuses) who has received the largest number of votes will next be determined  and declared elected.   The Kent Campus member at the Associate  or Full Professor rank who has the largest number of votes will fill the final position. No Faculty member may serve more than two consecutive terms on the FAC. The newly elected FAC will assume office at the beginning of the academic year following election.
The FAC is convened and chaired at least once per term by the Chair who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings. FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda. Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the Chair, as needed or upon a request by at least one-half of the members of the FAC. The FAC elects one ( I ) member to act as the Department representative to the College Advisory Committee (hereinafter “CAC”) and the Departmental Secretary (both to be elected from among Kent Campus FAC members in order to maximize the administrative efficiency of the Department). The FAC will also approve, by majority vote, the appointments made by the Department Chairperson of the Department's representative to the Arts & Sciences College Graduate Council (Graduate Coordinator) and representative to the Arts &  Sciences  College Curriculum Committee (Chairperson of Departmental Curriculum Committee who).