Internal Organization of the Department

For governance purposes, the Faculty is organized into three functional units associated with its degree programs. These units are the Literature/Culture/Language Unit, the Pedagogy Unit and the Translation Unit. Affiliated with the Department but having separate administrative structure, is the Institute for Applied Linguistics. In addition, standing committees have been established to conduct the business of the Department. As a matter of principle, all meetings of all groups in the Department, except for meetings dealing with personnel matters, are open. Accordingly, all meetings are to be listed on the calendar in the Department office and notice posted on the Department bulletin board.

  1. Functional Units and Degree Programs

    The Department of Modern and Classical Language Studies offers a wide range of degree programs and degree program specializations:

    1.             BA in American Sign Language;

    2.             BA in Classics, BA in Latin, MA in Latin;

    3.             BA in French, MA in French;

    4.             BA in German, MA in German, BA in Russian;

    5.             BA in Spanish, MA in Spanish;

    6.             Teacher licensure in American Sign Language, French, German, Latin, Russian and Spanish;

    7.             MA in French, German, Russian and Spanish with Pedagogy specialization;

    8.             BS in French, German, Russian, and Spanish Translation;

    9.             MA in Translation and PhD in Translation Studies.

    For purposes of governance:

    1. The BA in Classics, BA in Latin, MA in Latin, BA in French, MA in French, BA in German, MA in German, BA in Russian, BA in Spanish, and MA in Spanish degree programs will comprise the Literature/Culture/Language functional unit. This functional unit is further divided into four sub-units: Classics/Latin, French, German/Russian, and Spanish.

    2. The BA in American Sign Language and teacher licensure programs in American Sign Language, French, German, Latin, Russian and Spanish as well as the MA in French, German, Russian and Spanish with Pedagogy specializations will comprise the Pedagogy functional unit;

    3. The BS programs in French, German, Russian, and Spanish Translation and the graduate programs in Translation will comprise the Translation functional unit.

    Each of these functional units is responsible for the development and maintenance of its major and minor program(s), including responsibility for advising. Programmatic revisions in one unit that involve or impact other units must include appropriate consultation, discussion and communication.

    Each functional unit has the right to develop an internal structure (for instance, language sub-units) to best serve its governance needs and to ensure equitable representation of disciplinary units on the FAC and other committees.

  2. Institute for Applied Linguistics

    The Institute for Applied Linguistics (IAL) is an independent administrative unit of the College of Arts and Sciences established in 1988 by the Board of Trustees of Kent State University. The Institute is a focus of identity for faculty and students in the disciplines of applied linguistics: translation, interpreting, LSP / ESP / terminology studies, language informatics and software localization, and second language teaching (including foreign language teaching and TESL).

  3. Functional Units: Coordinators and Committees

    There are three functional units in the Department, associated with the department’s degree programs as enumerated above. The pedagogy and the translation units are each headed by a coordinator and each unit elects its FAC representatives from its membership. In the case of the Literature/Culture/Language functional unit, for the purposes of governance, the elected FAC representative of each sub-unit (as defined above in Section C.1) will act as a sub-unit coordinator. The Literature / Culture / Language functional unit may also choose to select a functional unit coordinator when deemed necessary by members of the sub-units but whose role is primarily as a convener of functional unit's members.

    a. Membership

    All Faculty members are automatically members of the functional unit associated with the degree programs(s) they were hired into or whose courses they are primarily assigned to teach. A faculty member may petition to be considered a member of another functional unit by declaring his/her intention to the Department Chairperson. Approval of a change of affiliation is subject to review by the FAC and acceptance by the petitioned unit. Under the open meetings law, all full-time Faculty will receive timely notification of and have opportunity to attend and participate in all meetings of all functional units and to review minutes of those meetings. Only those formally assigned to the unit may vote at unit meetings.

    b. Meetings

    The unit coordinator (or his/her delegates) will call or caused to be called at least one regular meeting of the full unit (or in cases where there is an internal governance structure, sub-units) each semester and post notice of the scheduled meeting on the Department bulletin board. Additional meetings may be called with at least one week’s notice. The coordinator or his/her delegates shall take into consideration the request of any member of the Unit for a meeting, and shall call a meeting if at least one half of the members of the Unit request that a meeting be called. The coordinator will distribute a summary of the discussion and transactions of each meeting to the Department Chairperson, the Assistant to the Chair, the other unit coordinators, and the Graduate Coordinator.