Admission and Scholarship Committee

(Including recruitment, communications and protocol)

The Admission and Scholarship Committee consists of ten faculty members. Six members are elected annually (one from each applied division, i.e., Brass and Percussion, Strings, Piano, Voice, Woodwinds, and one from Music Education). The Directors of Choirs, Bands and Orchestra are included. The Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies serves as Chair of the Committee.


The Admission and Scholarship Committee shall interpret and implement the admission and scholarship policies of the School of Music through the Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies.


Specifically, the Committee shall deal with undergraduate matters only and shall:


a. Determine semester and four-year scholarship awards based on faculty recommendations and availability of scholarship funds.


b. Establish standards for scholarship retention and review the status of scholarship recipients.


c. Obtain faculty recommendations and determine recipients of special awards, e.g., Weaver, Lipson, Wallach, Morgan, and other School of Music Special Scholarships.