Other Ad Hoc Committees

The Director may establish, charge, and appoint the membership of ad hoc committees as required by the School. In establishing ad hoc committees, naming members and designating a committee Chair, the Chair shall consult with the FAC. The Director will welcome requests and preferences from the faculty before establishing and making appointments to ad hoc committees.

  1. Admission and Scholarship Committee

    (Including recruitment, communications and protocol)

    The Admission and Scholarship Committee consists of ten faculty members. Six members are elected annually (one from each applied division, i.e., Brass and Percussion, Strings, Piano, Voice, Woodwinds, and one from Music Education). The Directors of Choirs, Bands and Orchestra are included. The Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies serves as Chair of the Committee.


    The Admission and Scholarship Committee shall interpret and implement the admission and scholarship policies of the School of Music through the Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies.


    Specifically, the Committee shall deal with undergraduate matters only and shall:


    a. Determine semester and four-year scholarship awards based on faculty recommendations and availability of scholarship funds.


    b. Establish standards for scholarship retention and review the status of scholarship recipients.


    c. Obtain faculty recommendations and determine recipients of special awards, e.g., Weaver, Lipson, Wallach, Morgan, and other School of Music Special Scholarships.

  2. Performing Arts Library Committee

    The Library Committee is comprised of five elected faculty members, including at least one member from each of the following divisions: Performance, Music Education, Musicology and Ethnomusicology, and Theory and Composition. In addition, there shall be one graduate student elected by the graduate student body. The Head of the Performing Arts Library is an ex officio member of the committee. The committee shall elect a music faculty member as chair at the first committee meeting in the fall semester of each academic year. The term of office for the chair is one academic year.


    The Library Committee will:


    a. Consult with the Head Performing Arts Librarian in making library policy.
    b. Act as liaison between the faculty and Kent State University Library.
    c. Request a copy of the annual report submitted to the University Library by the Head Performing Arts Librarian, a copy of which must be sent to the Director, School of Music.
    d. Coordinate with a representative from the School of Theatre and Dance and a representative from the University Libraries.


  3. Recognition Committee

    The Recognition Committee plans and executes special events (retirement parties, memorial events, etc.) in honor of faculty and staff members, alumni, students, donors, and advocates.

  4. Recruitment Committee

    In addition to the Admission, Recruitment and Scholarship Committee, an ad hoc Recruitment Committee may be appointed by the Director. The purpose of the Recruitment Committee is to collaborate outreach efforts within School of Music areas to increase music major enrollment. Membership is comprised of area heads (in most cases), College of the Arts Recruitment/Retention personnel, College of the Arts Marketing staff, School of Music Director, Scholarship Committee Chair and Recruitment Committee Chair. Any additional faculty members are welcome to attend meetings. Meetings are held bi-weekly for approximately one hour. The Recruitment Committee works with College of the Arts and School of Music marketing staff on publicity, with the College of the Arts Recruitment/Retention Coordinator on outreach, and with College of the Arts and School of Music faculty on student recruitment and retention goals.