Standing Committees of the FAC

All standing committees of the FAC are composed of tenured/tenure-track faculty and the Director, and are open to all FAC members. Faculty members may be self-nominated, and are selected annually by the Director. The Director may appoint NTT faculty as members of standing committees. Full-time NTT faculty members who are elected to the Faculty Advisory Committee shall not participate in personnel decisions regarding tenure-track Faculty members, including but not limited to appointment, reappointment, tenure, promotion, merit, or sanctions. The Director is an ex officio member of all standing committees. The Director appoints a faculty member as Chairperson for each standing committee. The Chairperson is responsible for calling meetings, preparing the agenda, and distributing committee minutes to committee members and other FAC members. The Chair of each standing committee must report on its activities and bring issues and motions to the monthly FAC meetings for action and once per year in an annual report.


Two standing committees are mandated by CBA and university policies:


a. Curriculum Committee 

The Curriculum Committee is organized in accordance with CBA Article VI Section 3.C.


The committee reviews all proposals for curriculum changes referred to it by the Director, the FAC as a whole, and individual faculty members, as well as proposals initiated by members of the Curriculum Committee. These changes may include proposals for new courses, special topics and seminars, new degree programs, and modification of existing courses and degree requirements. Working with the Academic Program Coordinator, the Curriculum Committee will consider for approval all proposals for workshops offered for graduate students.

The committee coordinates all curricular review activities of the School. These activities may include evaluation of degree changes, coordination of outcome assessment, evaluation of continuing education activities, and periodic assessment of program demand. The Curriculum Committee reviews advising and scheduling procedures as they impact student access to curriculum offerings.


Proposals for curriculum changes, including new courses, may originate with any member of the faculty, but must pass for consideration through the Curriculum Committee and the FAC. If recommended by both groups, the Director or the Director’s designee forwards each proposal to the Curriculum Committee of the College of Communication and Information. Specific policies and procedures regarding curriculum changes can be found in the Curriculum Committee resources.


The various School curricular course offerings and policies will be reviewed periodically for the purpose of determining their effectiveness.


The committee is composed of a minimum of three tenured/tenure-track faculty members and one graduate student representative from a SLIS Master’s program (per university policy). The Graduate Studies Coordinator, Academic Program Coordinator responsible for curricular matters and the SLIS Director or the Director’s designee (Associate Director), serve as ex officio members. The SLIS representative to the College Curriculum Committee (CCC) will be a faculty member of the SLIS Curriculum Committee; typically the Chairperson. Committee meetings are open to all FAC members.


b. Student Academic Complaint Committee

In the Fall, the Director shall appoint a Student Academic Complaint Review Committee which consists of at least three tenured/tenure-track faculty plus one graduate student representative from a SLIS Master’s program with voting privileges. The committee will follow the procedures for student complaints as outlined in UR 3342-4-02.3, "Administrative policy and procedure for student academic complaints." An “academic complaint” is defined as a formalized complaint regarding those aspects of the educational process involving student performance, evaluation, or grading in courses, and includes an appeal of dismissal from the program of study in which the student is engaged.


In addition to the above standing committees, the FAC may establish or inactivate standing committees based on the needs of the FAC. Each committee memberships should include a minimum of three tenured/tenure-track full-time faculty members with voting privileges. Additional voting members may include full-time non-tenure track faculty.  Staff, outside liaisons closely related to the work of each committee and appropriate SLIS student body representatives may be invited to attend meetings as needed. Students must be in good academic standing and be enrolled in one of the School’s Master’s programs. Currently the following standing committees exist:


c. Accreditation and Assessment Committee

The Accreditation and Assessment Committee reviews matters pertinent to the accreditation processes of the School's programs and those processes associated with Kent State University's Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP), School goals and objectives, and to provide a forum for sharing best practices among the School, its leadership, and constituencies. The Committee is comprised of at least three tenured/tenure-track full-time faculty members with voting privileges. The Director or the Director’s designee for assessment is an ex-officio member. In addition, one staff member responsible for assessment data collection and one student representative may be invited to participate as needed. Committee meetings are open to all FAC members.


d. Awards and Admissions Committee 

The Awards and Admissions Committee supports the mission of the School of Library and Information Science in the following ways:  reviews applications of candidates seeking admission into the School and votes on whether or not to admit the applicants; updates the scholarships offered annually by the School, solicits and reviews applications for the scholarships, and determines the winners of each scholarship; facilitates the nomination of SLIS alumni for membership into Beta Phi Mu; solicits nominations for student and alumni awards; reviews applications for SLIS-funded graduate student assistantships and hourly graduate student assistant positions to support the faculty; conducts interviews with applicants; and selects applicants to fill the available positions. The committee consists of at least three tenured/tenure-track faculty members. The Graduate Studies Coordinator is ex officio member of this committee. Due to the scope of this committee there is no student representation. Committee meetings are open to all FAC members.


e. Online Education Committee

The Online Education Committee advises the FAC on best practices in instructional delivery, student services, faculty support, and technical resources for online learning activities. The Committee is composed of a minimum of three tenured/tenure-track faculty members, with invited outside participation to include a student representative from SLIS online programs (must be enrolled in a 100% online program), and liaisons from appropriate related committees, as needed. Committee meetings are open to all FAC members.


f. Technology Committee 

The SLIS Technology Committee develops long-range plans for information technology components for the School; recommends and prioritizes software and hardware purchases; evaluates existing technological resources in light of curricular and research needs; and develops long-range plans for maintaining adequate resources. The Committee is composed of a minimum of three tenured/tenure-track faculty members. Technology support staff members serve as ex-officio members. A SLIS student representative and liaisons from appropriate related committees may be invited to meetings, as needed. Committee meetings are open to all FAC members.