Search Committees

Kent State Stark search committees are formed by the Dean and approved by the Office of Affirmative Action. Committees generally consist of tenured or tenure-track faculty (although provisions are sometimes made for the participation of FTNTT faculty) and the chair is usually a senior faculty member in his or her discipline. Once committees are formally charged by the Dean, they are provided with training sessions to ensure fair-hiring practices and the following of hiring protocols (especially those developed by the Office of Affirmative Action).