KSU Fashion School Shines in the Spotlight During 2018 ITAA Conference in Cleveland

KSU Fashion School Faculty and graduate students attending the 2018 ITAA ConferenceThe Kent State University Fashion School commanded a large presence during the 2018 International Textile and Apparel Association Conference in Cleveland.


The annual event was co-chaired by the Fashion School’s Dr. Kim Hahn and Linda Ohrn-McDaniel.  Dr. Hahn, professor and interim director of the School, and McDaniel, professor and director of the School’s TechStyleLAB, shown a bright light on all of the incredible work happening in the Fashion School, along with all of the hidden gems the cities of Kent and Cleveland both have to offer. 

“I feel honored and fortunate to have run such an extremely successful ITAA conference with Linda. This, of course, could not have been possible without our faculty, staff and graduate students who helped manage the event both in Kent and Cleveland,” said Dr. Hahn. “We received so many positive comments from those who attended, expressing how impressed they are with our program, facility, faculty, students and staff. It is no doubt that this ITAA conference made our Fashion School stand out in the fashion industry more than ever!”

Dr. Jihyun Kim posing with award at the 2018 ITAA Awards in Cleveland.The event, which was held at the Hilton in downtown Cleveland, Nov. 6 - 9, started with a tour of the Fashion School and the city of Kent, where ITAA attendants had the opportunity to see first-hand the talented students and faculty belonging the School, along with what makes Kent so unique. Many students, faculty and staff were on hand the entire week to ensure the interworking’s of the conference ran smoothly. 

In addition to managing the conference, the School also held a large presence during the awards ceremony, with several faculty and students winning some of the conference’s most coveted awards.

Dr. Jihyun Kim, associate professor and Fashion School Store director, was the recipient of the prestigious ITAA Mid-Career Excellence Award. Over the duration of the Conference, Dr. Kim conducted six research presentations presented her recent research and findings in fashion. Dr. Kim also won the Educators for Socially Responsible Apparel Practices (ESRAP) Best Paper – Teaching Award for her collaboration with Hansung University visiting scholar, Kyung-Hee Choi for “Re-design”, a fashion project based on the eco-tech concept of using a problem-based learning approach. 

Michaela Courtney posing with award at 2018 ITAA Awards in Cleveland

In addition to co-chairing the event, Ohrn-McDaniel also won the Claire Shaeffer Award for Outstanding Marketable Design – Professional for “Strategically Knit” a seamless knitted jacket adorned with special topics and phrases pertaining to the Fashion School and the University. This special jacket was worn by KSU President, Beverly J. Warren, Ph.D., during the 2018 State of the University Address.

Winning one of the competitive undergraduate student scholarship awards was senior Michaela Courtney. Courtney won the Blanch Payne Scholarship in Apparel or Fashion Design for her impressive undergraduate work. She was also recently honored during the Fashion School’s 2018 Annual Fashion Show where her knit piece won the Knitwear Design Award.


About ITAA

ITAA is a professional, educational association composed of scholars, educators, and students in the textile, apparel, and merchandising disciplines in higher education. ITAA welcomes professionals employed in those fields who wish to join with members of the Association in the pursuit of knowledge, interchange of ideas, and dissemination of knowledge through meetings, special events, and publications.
The International Textile and Apparel Association promotes the discovery, dissemination, and application of knowledge and is a primary resource for its members in strengthening leadership and service to society. For more information, visit http://itaaonline.org 





Photo 1 (Banner): ITAA Co-Chairs Linda Ohrn-McDaniel (pictured left) and Dr. Kim Hahn (pictured right) of the Kent State Fashion School with ITAA Council Member, Sheri Dragoo, of Texas Woman's University (pictured middle).

Photo 2: Kent State Fashion School faculty and graduate students at the 2018 ITAA Awards in Cleveland.

Photo 3: Dr. Jihyun Kim posing with award at the 2018 ITAA Awards in Cleveland. 

Photo 4: Michaela Courtney posing with award at 2018 ITAA Awards in Cleveland.

Media Contact: 
Brittani Peterson, Fashion School, marketing associate, bpeter12@kent.edu, 330-672-2714



POSTED: Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 1:54pm
UPDATED: Monday, February 4, 2019 - 5:47pm