Department Committees

All Department committees are advisory and recommendatory to the Chair. The membership, structure, and function of some of the Department's committees are governed by University, Administrative, and Operational Policies and the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement. Except for the FAC, members of all other committees are appointed annually by the Chairperson in consultation with the Faculty Advisory Committee. The Chair may establish ad hoc committees in consultation with the FAC. All committees have a minimum of three members in addition to the Chairperson who serves ex officio on all committees. Committee chairs are appointed by the Chairperson with the exception of the Faculty Advisory Committee, chaired by the Chairperson.

  1. The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC)

    The FAC is structured and operates as described in the applicable Collective Bargaining Agreement.  The FAC is elected directly by the full-time Faculty of the Department as defined in subhead III A Definition of the Faculty above. The FAC serves as an advisory group to the Chair in all Departmental matters; performs duties requested by the Chair; is involved in the preparation of material and agenda for faculty meetings; and makes recommendations to the Chairperson regarding individual merit raises for the faculty. The Committee is composed of three TT faculty from the Kent Campus and one from one of the Regional Campuses. The Committee elects from its membership a Chair of the FAC who will serve as the Department’s representative to the College Advisory Committee (CAC).  The terms of the FAC members are for two years. Elections are conducted in the Spring Semester, and the FAC members assume office at the beginning of the Fall Semester. The FAC is convened and chaired at least two times per term by the Chair who, in consultation with the FAC, sets the agenda for its meetings.  FAC members may request that items be added to the agenda.  Additional meetings of the FAC may be called by the Chair as needed or upon a request by at least one-half of the members of the FAC.

  2. The Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

    The GSC assists the Graduate Coordinator with the oversight and development of the Department’s graduate program. The GSC reviews proposals for new graduate courses and changes in course content and related curricular matters, and it conducts periodic reviews of the Department’s graduate program as a whole. The GSC may also assume the role of Curriculum Committee for graduate curriculum. The GSC is responsible for graduate recruiting, evaluating applications for admission, evaluating and recommending candidates for graduate appointments, and monitoring the progress and academic performance of graduate students in the Department. The members of the GSC are appointed by the chairperson from the Full Members of the Graduate Faculty.

  3. The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UGCC)

    The UGCC assists the Chair in supervising and coordinating the Department’s curricular programs. The UGCC makes recommendations on any and all matters which affect the academic programs of the Department including but not limited to faculty proposals for new courses, changes in course content, major requirements, and other curricular matters. The chair and members of the UGCC are appointed by the chairperson. Membership should include a senior undergraduate major in good standing. The UGCC Chair serves as the department representative on the College Curriculum Committee

  4. Student Academic Complaint Committee

    The Student Academic Complaint Committee is composed of FAC faculty members and one student appointed by the FAC. The faculty Chair of the FAC chairs the SACC. The policies and procedures of this committee are governed by University Policy 3342-4-02.3. In the event that a member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the Chairperson will appoint a replacement from the full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty. If the Chair of the SACC is the subject of or may otherwise be involved with a student complaint, the department Chair will appoint a member of the Student Academic Complaint Committee to chair the committee and appoint an additional member to the committee from the full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty. 

  5. Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

    The policies and procedures which govern the Department’s Ad Hoc Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion (RTP) Committee are included in University Policy.  Procedural and operational guidelines for this committee are provided annually by the Office of the Provost. This committee reviews materials relevant to the professional performance of faculty who are candidates for reappointment, tenure, or promotion in rank, and makes recommendations to the Chair on each of these personnel decisions.  The recommendations of this committee and the Chair, together with the materials assembled for the committees, are forwarded to the Dean of the College. 

  6. Graduate Faculty Committee

    The Graduate Faculty Committee of the Department of Geology consists of the Chairperson and all Faculty Advisory Committee members who are full members of the graduate faculty and who are approved to direct doctoral dissertations. In the case that a member of the Faculty Advisory Committee does not meet these criteria, the Chairperson shall appoint another member of the faculty who meets the necessary criteria to serve on the Graduate Faculty Committee. The Committee's role is to evaluate the faculty and recommend appropriate graduate faculty status for each member of the Department.

  7. Other Departmental Committees

    The Chairperson may establish, charge, and appoint the membership of additional departmental committees as required by the Department. In establishing departmental committees, naming members, and designating a committee chair, the Chairperson shall consult with the FAC.