English Professor Named Distinguished Honors Faculty Award Recipient

Meet the Distinguished Honors Faculty Award Recipient of 2016

Elizabeth Howard, Ph.D., professor in the Department of English at Kent State University, has been named the 2016 recipient of the Distinguished Honors Faculty Award.

Dr. Howard has taught the Freshman Honors Colloquium sequence (HONR 10197 and HONR 10297) for a number of years and has directed numerous students in completion of the Senior Honors Thesis/Project as a thesis advisor.
She also serves on the Honors College Policy Council, an advisory group to the dean of the Honors College made up of 12 Honors faculty and 12 student representatives.  Members administer changes in curriculum, changes in academic requirements, new programs, course and instructor evaluation procedures.
The Distinguished Honors Faculty Award was established in 1991 to recognize excellence in Honors teaching. The recipient is selected by Honors students in association with the dean on the basis of strong teaching performance, advising of independent work, and service provided to the Honors College and its students.
Dr. Howard will be recognized at the Senior Honors Luncheon to be held Saturday, April 9 in the Kent Student Center Ballroom.