What is the President's Award of Distinction? (08/05/2013)

In 2009, Kent State University President Lester A. Lefton established a recognition program to reward staff members who demonstrate their daily commitment to carrying out the university’s Excellence Agenda.

This award recognizes Kent State staff who have demonstrated exceptional performance in advancing the strategic goals of the university during the previous fiscal year (July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013).

Nominations for the 2013 award will be accepted from Aug. 12 through Sept. 13. Full-time classified and unclassified employees at all campuses who have been employed by the university for a minimum of one year and are in good standing with the university are eligible to be nominated. Past recipients are not eligible to be nominated for a minimum of two years following their award. Faculty are not eligible for the award.

Details on the award criteria, the nomination process and the nomination form will be available on the President's Award of Distinction page. The nomination form will accessible beginning Aug. 12 and throughout the nomination period. Nominations will be reviewed and a final list will be submitted to the Office of the President. The final decision resides with the president and the award recipients will be announced in December. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 award.

If you have questions regarding the award or nomination process, please contact Geraldine Hayes-Nelson, Ph.D., executive director for HR Outreach and Initiatives at 330-672-2901 or ghnelson@kent.edu.