Celebration 2016 to Honor Alumni, Friends, Students

Events Take Place in Columbus (3/28) and Kent (4/13)

The School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at Kent State University will honor its top alumni, distinguished friends, outstanding students and recent graduates at its annual Celebration of Alumni and Student Success receptions in Kent and Columbus.

The events will take place on Monday, March 28, in Columbus, at the SLIS site in the State Library of Ohio, for alumni, students and friends in southern/central Ohio, and on Wednesday, April 13, in Kent, at SLIS on the Kent Campus, for those in northern/northeast Ohio.

Among the alumni to be honored are LIS Alumnus of the Year William C. Barrow, M.L.S. '98; IAKM Alumnus of the Year Edwin K. Morris, M.S. '12; and SLIS Friend of the Year Thomas J. Froehlich, Ph.D., IAKM founder and SLIS emeritus professor. The complete list of alumni award winners and student scholarship recipients appears below. 

Events in both locations start at 6 p.m. and are open to all; there is no charge to attend, but a reservation is requested. (Please RSVP below under the appropriate date for the event you wish to attend.)

Event Details


  • Hors d'oeuvres reception, 6 to 8 p.m.
  • Program at 6:45 p.m.
  • State Library of Ohio, 274 E. First Ave., Columbus 43201
  • RSVP (Columbus) by March 22
  • Directions
  • Parking is free in the State Library parking lots.


  • Hors d'oeuvres reception, 6 to 8 p.m.
  • Program at 6:45 p.m.
  • SLIS, Kent State University, 3rd Floor University Library
  • RSVP (Kent) by April 8
  • Directions to Student Center parking lot (adjacent to the library)
  • During this event, guests may also tour the Reinberger Children's Library Center, Marantz Picturebook Collection and MuseLab.

Alumni Award Winners

  • LIS Alumnus of the Year: William C. Barrow, M.L.S. '98
  • IAKM Alumnus of the Year: Edwin K. Morris, M.S. '12
  • Friend of the Year: Thomas J. Froehlich, Ph.D., SLIS Emeritus Professor 
  • August Alpers Award: David Todd, M.L.I.S. '15
  • Dan MacLachlan School Library Media Award: Kristin Bugnitz, M.L.I.S. '15, and Sheree Howard, M.L.I.S. '15
  • H.F. Group Preservation Award: Daniellle Zenira Maynard, M.L.I.S. '15
  • Janice Smuda Children's Librarianship Award: Desiree Thomas, M.L.I.S. '15
  • Thomas J. Froehlich Award: Martha Balash, M.S. '15

Graduate Assistants

  • Psyche Castro
  • Julaine Clunis
  • Sean Dolan
  • Eileen Horansky
  • Ashley Krantz
  • Matthew Lostoski
  • Christine Mihalic
  • Rachel L. Miller
  • Laura Perrings
  • Lisa Racine                   
  • Mitch Sumner

Student Scholarship Recipients

  • Alumni and Friends Council Endowed Minority Scholarship: Kristen Zajac
  • H.W. Wilson Scholarship: Taylor Humphreys, John Lortie, Bill McIntire, Jennifer L. Rice
  • Health Informatics Leadership Scholarship: Penelope Valentik
  • J. Allen Oakum Memorial Scholarship: Kimberly Michalak
  • James E. Cook Scholarship: Sarah Gnoddie, Tara Ann Shiman
  • Jesse H. Shera Memorial Scholarship: Michael Niederhausen
  • Marian Porter Huffman Scholarship: Grace Butkowski
  • Mary T. Kim Scholarship: Robin Clancy
  • Petta and Ron Khouw Scholarship: Kirsten Setzkorn
  • Priscilla Drach Scholarship in Children's Librarianship: Brittany R. Dunfee
  • Rose Vormelker Scholarship: Rachel Dilley, Wendy Marie Zarara Bromfield
  • Rowfant Club Scholarship: Ian Schwartz
  • Vanita Scholars in Youth Librarianship: Psyche Zoamary Castro, Robin Clancy, Ashley Paris-Hansen, Katy Wagner