Celebration 2017 to Honor Alumni, Friends, Students

Events Scheduled for Columbus (4/20) and Kent (4/25)

The iSchool (School of Library and Information Science) at Kent State University will honor its top alumni, distinguished friends, outstanding students and recent graduates at its annual Celebration of Alumni and Student Success receptions in Kent and Columbus.

The events will take place on Thursday, April 20, in Columbus, at the iSchool site in the State Library of Ohio, for alumni, students and friends in southern/central Ohio, and on Tuesday, April 25, in Kent, at SLIS on the Kent Campus, for those in northern/northeast Ohio.

Can't make it to Kent? Watch live (beginning at 6:45 p.m. ET) or check out the recording on our YouTube channel after the event.

Among the alumni to be honored are LIS Alumnus of the Year Joseph A. Salem, Jr., M.L.S. '99, Ph.D.; IAKM Alumna of the Year Hildy Pearl, M.S. '15; and Friend of the Year Carolyn (Carrie) Burrier, M.L.S. '86. The complete list of alumni award winners, student scholarship recipients and other honorees appears below.

Events in both locations start at 6 p.m. and are open to all; there is no charge to attend, but a reservation is requested. (Please RSVP below under the appropriate date for the event you wish to attend.)

Event Details

COLUMBUS: Thursday, April 20, 2017

  • Hors d'oeuvres reception, 6 to 8 p.m.
  • Program at 6:45 p.m.
  • State Library of Ohio, 274 E. First Ave., Columbus 43201
  • Directions to the State Library
  • Parking is free in the State Library parking lots.
  • RSVP (Columbus) by April 14

KENT: Tuesday, APRIL 25, 2017

  • Hors d'oeuvres reception, 6 to 8 p.m.
  • Program at 6:45 p.m.
  • Kent State University, 3rd Floor University Library
  • Parking:
  • RSVP (Kent) by April 19

Alumni Award Winners

  • LIS Alumnus of the Year: Joseph A. Salem, Jr., M.L.S. ’99, Ph.D.
  • IAKM Alumna of the Year: Hildy Pearl, M.S. '15
  • Friend of the Year: Carolyn (Carrie) Burrier, M.L.S. ‘86
  • August Alpers Award: Julaine Clunis, M.L.I.S. ’16, M.S. '16
  • Dan MacLachlan School Library Media Award: Andria Morningstar-Gray, M.L.I.S. '16, and Laurie Katusin Swallen, M.L.I.S. '16
  • H.F. Group Preservation Award: Alexa Elgabri, M.L.I.S. ’15
  • Janice Smuda Children’s Librarianship Award: Kristen Michele Zajac, M.L.I.S. '16
  • Thomas J. Froehlich Award: Tasha Markovich, M.S. ‘15

Graduate Assistants

  • Ariel Bacon
  • Alexandra Bell
  • Brittany Brannon
  • Wendy Bromfield
  • Tessa Grindle-de Graaf
  • Kaitlyn Gutshall
  • Jordan Limoli
  • Bethany Lopreste
  • Meghan MacMillan
  • Brianna Mayle
  • Melissa O'Sickey

Student Organization Leaders

  • Brittany Brannon and Lindsey Gibson: C-ALSSO (Columbus)

Student Scholarship Recipients

  • A. Robert Rogers Memorial Scholarship: Ruth Monnier
  • Alumni & Friends Council Minority Scholarship: Enrique Caboverde III
  • Geauga West Friends of the Library Scholarship: Sarah Gnoddie
  • H.W. Wilson Scholarship: Cara Bolley, Angela Jameson, Brooke Meyer, Deborah Smith
  • Health Informatics Leadership Scholarship: Emily Stickel
  • J. Allen Oakum Memorial Scholarship: Laura Anne Haskins
  • James E. Cook Scholarship in Young Adult Librarianship: Sarah Gnoddie, John Lortie
  • Jesse H. Shera Memorial Scholarship: Alicia Krzton
  • Marian Porter Huffman Endowed Scholarship: Dominique Fuqua, Emily Patterson
  • Mary T. Kim Scholarship: Matthew Dyer, Carla Everstijn
  • Petta and Ron Khouw Scholarship: Elisha Johnson
  • Priscilla L. Drach Children’s Librarianship Scholarship: Angelina Bair
  • Rose Vormelker Scholarship: Shara Plough, Wendy Marie Zarara Bromfield
  • Rowfant Club Annual Scholarship: Kelly Conger
  • Thomas Szudy Memorial Scholarship: Monica Wilson
  • Vanita Scholars Youth Services Scholarship: Haneen Ali-Samad, Keirstin Flythe, Kelsey Lupo, Julie Phoenix